Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?

Best Seller
Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? by Lizzie Damilola Blackburn
Hardcover $26.00
Jan 18, 2022 | ISBN 9780593299005

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 18, 2022 | ISBN 9780593299005

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jan 18, 2022 | ISBN 9780593299012

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?:

“A cautionary tale of the pernicious effects of sexism, racism and colorism upon women of the African diaspora….In the end, what matters most in Yinka is not your marital status but self-love, love of family and a broader sense of connection. And maybe you’ll find something better than a happily-ever-after fairy tale.”
Mabinty Quarshie, USA Today’s “Rom-Com Roundup: Top January Reading List”

“So modern and fresh. Like Bridget Jones, Yinka is a lovable and relatable disaster—which is to say, she isn’t actually a disaster at all…I adore her.”
—Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

“Beautifully observed, warm and deeply human, Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a meditation on family and friendship, on love and self-love. Feel-good, funny and clever, it’s got smash-hit written all over it!”
Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

“Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a beautiful, big hearted story about friendship, family, and love. Yinka’s charming voice draws you in and her journey toward self-acceptance will make you stay. A fun and relatable read.” 
Emiko Jean, New York Times bestselling author

“Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? was a total joy to read–it’s hilarious, insightful, and so uplifting. Yinka is the most lovable character I’ve come across in a long time–I was cheering her on for every step of her journey.”
Beth O’Leary, international bestselling author of The Road Trip

“Warm and fun and sweet, great on female friendships and extended families.”
Marian Keyes, international bestselling author of Grown Ups

“Blackburn deftly immerses us in the life of a loveable Yinka as she straddles two cultures in her search for a ‘huzband.’ Smart, sophisticated, and fresh this is the ‘girl gets herself’ type of story I love to read!”
Jayne Allen, author of Black Girls Must Die Exhausted

“A warm, witty, and joyful novel bursting with charm and unforgettable characters, this is a story about friendship, family, romance, and the most important quest of all–loving and accepting yourself.”
Lauren Ho, author of Last Tang Standing

“Spreadsheets, meddling aunties, and makeovers…Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a delightful journey of a British Nigerian woman longing to find love, and to love herself. Reader, you’ll root for Yinka the whole way.”
Patricia Park, author of Re Jane

“Lizzie Blackburn writes with a witty tenderness and absorbing fluidity that brings Yinka, the most loveable character you’ll meet, to rich life! I cheered for her, cringed for her, and rooted for her all the way. A fabulously fresh debut guaranteed to warm your heart. Loved it!”
Lọlá Ákínmádé Åkerström, author of In Every Mirror She’s Black

“Glorious debut! Read it over two nights and loved it!”
Nikki May, author of Wahala

“What a darling book! Yinka, Where is your huzband? drew me in right away with the banter between Yinka and her overbearing family. It is at times bitingly funny and relatable, I giggled out loud so many times my partner asked me to finish the book upstairs (!). Yinka’s internal struggles to meet the standards and expectations placed on her by everyone else are familiar…. A gorgeous, easy read, but with real depth to its punchy chapters. This book is really just such an extraordinary debut from one of the UK’s sure-to-be rising talents in contemporary fiction. BRAVA!!!!” 
Lizzy Dent, author of The Summer Job

“Lizzie Damilola Blackburn’s debut novel is incredibly relatable for anybody whose family members frequently question their relationship status. In Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? a thirty-something Nigerian woman attempts to find herself a wedding date and learns some valuable lessons about life and love.”
Marie Claire

“Turns traditional elements of romantic comedy on its head, discussing love and how it can weave its way between two cultures.”
The Washington Post

“If…Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? was to become a TV sitcom, it could run episode after episode, season after season, without losing steam on story material. Cheeky and entertaining, the novel, which spans just six months in the chaotic life of its British-Nigerian protagonist Yinka, packs in a whole lot of cross-cultural drama and social commentary with an easy-going, conversational style. Add romantic and professional mishaps, and complicated relationships among four Black women living in England, two of whom are Yinka’s cousins, and you have the makings of comedic gold.”
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“A delightful romantic comedy that refuses to play by the genre’s rules.”
PopSugar

“A great foray into Nigerian style rom-com territory with a loveable and unconventional heroine. Although Yinka considers herself traditional, this book feels very modern and has great humor.”
BookRiot

“Blackburn’s debut is a laugh-out-loud story of self-discovery, set against the world of contemporary dating. Yinka cleverly navigates others’ competing expectations of who she should be, figuring out who she is in the process. Fans of Uzma Jalaluddin and Sonya Lalli will delight in this story of a one of a kind woman learning how to love one of the most important people in her life: herself.”
—Booklist

“A sassy, spirited story.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“Blackburn’s lighthearted tone helps deliver heavy thoughts on colorism, the tension of cultural differences, and the benefits of therapy, as the story moves toward a happy ending on all fronts. This delivers loads of entertainment and a dollop of enlightenment.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Blackburn’s Bridget Jones-esque debut is a sensitive, humorous chronicle of a young woman’s journey of self-discovery….This universal story of a young woman coming into her own contains many elements of Nigerian culture….Readers who like the novels of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will find much to enjoy here.”
—Library Journal

“This is the romantic comedy for both readers who love rom coms and hate rom comes. It’s clever, smart, and fresh. It’s a great way to kick start your New Year Reading Resolution.”
Debutiful

“A smart and refreshing take on the romcom.”
—Ms. Magazine

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Lizzie Damilola Blackburn
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top