Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett

Anna of Byzantium

Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett
Mass Market Paperback
Oct 10, 2000 | 224 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Ebook $5.99

    Apr 13, 2011 | 224 Pages | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
An ALA Quick Pick
An ALA Best Book for Young Adults
A Booklist Editor’s Choice
A Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick

[STAR] “[Anna of Byzantium] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths.” — The Bulletin, Starred review

In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg’s A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver and Karen Cushman’s Catherine, Called Birdy comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire…Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna’s story, and the author’s precise use of detail helps re-create Anna’s world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in…this exciting read.”—Booklist, Boxed review

A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue.“-The Horn Book Magazine

“Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written.” —VOYA

This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett’s descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind.”— Wichita Eagle

Awards

ALA Best Books for Young Adults WINNER 2000

Texas Lonestar Reading List WINNER 2001

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top