Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

A McKenna Novel Series

Jo Goodman
This Gun for Hire by Jo Goodman
The Devil You Know by Jo Goodman

A McKenna Novel Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
From the USA Today bestselling author of This Gun for Hire and one of today’s “premier western romance writers,”* a captivating new Western historical romance . . .
 
WHAT HE DOESN’T KNOW . . .
 
After a horse drags him through the countryside, Israel McKenna awakes bruised and battered in a field in Pancake Valley, Colorado. He can recall where he came from and where he was going, but the memory of how he came to be on the Pancake homestead eludes him. He’s certain he did something wrong to deserve such a harsh punishment—and so is the beautiful woman who reluctantly comes to his aid.
 
. . . COULD HURT HER.
 
Wilhelmina “Willa” Pancake must focus on running her family’s ranch. With Israel’s hazy memory, she is unsure if she can trust him, let alone handle the budding attraction between them. And as men fight to steal her land and the truth about Israel’s past rides toward them, love is a risk she cannot easily take.
Book 1
“Perfectly crafted”—PW (starred review)
Jo Goodman, a premier writer of western romance and the author of In Want of a Wife, is back with a sensational new novel for fans of Linda Lael Miller and Joan Johnston. 
He’s got a job to do…
Former army cavalryman Quill McKenna takes pride in protecting the most powerful man in Stonechurch, Colorado: Mr. Ramsey Stonechurch himself. But the mine owner has enemies, and after several threats on his life, mines, and family, Quill decides to hire someone to help guard the boss’s daughter. Only problem is the uncontrollable attraction he feels toward the fiery-haired woman who takes the job. 
…but she’s a piece of work. 
Calico Nash has more knowledge of scouting and shooting than cross-stitching, but she agrees to pose as Ann’s private tutor while protecting her. But between her growing attraction to Quill and the escalating threats against the Stonechurches, Calico will soon have a choice to make—hang on to her hard-won independence or put her faith in Quill to create the kind of happy ending she never imagined…

Find other titles in

Back to Top