Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Burnside Series

Mary Ann Rivers
Live by Mary Ann Rivers
Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers

Burnside Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
Mary Ann Rivers continues her Burnside family series—perfect for readers of Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Ruthie Knox—as two people try to share their hearts without losing their cool.
 
Dr. Sam Burnside is convinced that volunteering at an urban green-space farm in Lakefield, Ohio, is a waste of time—especially with his new health clinic about to open. He only goes to mollify his partner, suspecting she wants him to lighten up. Then Sam catches sight of Nina Paz, a woman who gives off more heat than a scorcher in July. Her easy smile and flirty, sizzling wit has him forgetting his infamous need for control.
 
Widowed when her husband was killed in Afghanistan, Nina has learned that life exists to take chances. As the daughter of migrant workers turned organic farmers, she’s built an exciting and successful business by valuing new opportunities and working hard to take care of her own. But when Sam pushes for a relationship that goes beyond their hotter-than-fire escapades, Nina ignores her own hard-won wisdom. She isn’t ready for a man who needs saving—even if her heart compels her to take the greatest risk of all: love.

Praise for Laugh
 
“Amazing . . . one hell of a journey for a single book.”—Never Too Fond of Books
 
“The humor, emphasis on community, and passionate feeling make [Laugh] a lovely read.”—Dear Author
 
“Laugh makes you want to go out and take life by the horns, hug your friends and family tight and, yes . . . laugh.”—For What It’s Worth
 
“If you want to read superb quality writing, be challenged intellectually and emotionally and be stimulated sensually—Mary Ann Rivers is the author to grab! Trust me on this!”—Ripe for Reader
 
“Sam is my new favorite [May Ann Rivers] leading man. And trust me, when you read this you’ll know he’s all man.”—The Book Hammock

“I love the Burnside family dynamic in this series—it’s messy and real.”—Red Hot and Blue Reads
 
“Mary Ann Rivers has the ability to take my breath away and make me laugh in the same paragraph . . . heck, maybe even the same sentence.”—Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews
 
“One of the most achingly real love stories that I’ve ever read.”—Love at First Page
 
“Mary Ann Rivers is an author I trust implicitly. She unfailingly delivers stories with such realism. . . . She delivers the romance that is best experienced in the quiet moments between two people falling in love, or who are already there. It’s gritty and tough and messy. It’s beautiful.”—The Bookish Babe
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
Book 1
Mary Ann Rivers kicks off a new contemporary romance series—sure to please readers of Ruthie Knox, Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis—where love can be found unexpectedly.
 
If there’s an upside to unemployment, Destiny Burnside may have found it. Job searching at her local library in Lakefield, Ohio, gives her plenty of time to ogle the hottest man she has ever laid eyes on: the sexy wood-carver who’s restoring the building. But as the rejection letters pile up, Destiny finds an unexpected shoulder to cry on. With his rich Welsh accent, Hefin Thomas stirs Destiny so completely that, even though he’s leaving soon, she lets herself believe the memory of his scorching kisses will be enough.
 
Hefin can’t help but notice the slender, confident woman with ginger hair who returns each day, so hopeful and determined. So when the tears start to fall, his silence—penance for a failed marriage—finally cracks. Once he’s touched her, what Hefin wants is to take her back to Wales and hold her forever. But Destiny’s roots run too deep. What they both need is each other—to learn how to live and love again.

Praise for Live
 
“Sizzling, sweet, and superbly written, Live is a marvelous love story.”—New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes

“A beautiful, aching exploration of love, family, and loss—highly recommended!”—USA Today bestselling author Ruthie Knox
 
“Such an elegantly layered story.”—Dear Author

“The romance in this book is super hot. . . . Such care is taken to craft the characters’ lives. . . . Just when things get really heavy there is naughtiness in a batting cage and sex in a limo. And Hefin, with his stubble and curls about his ears make things very steamy and put a smile on my face. He is such a good guy, and just what Des needed.”—Smexy Books
 
“Live blooms with the freshness of thoughtful storytelling carefully tended by beautiful prose. . . . Rivers is actively staking new, lyrical ground in a genre often sidelined as a guilty pleasure. There’s no need to choose between heat and good writing. From this author, readers get a two-for-one deal.”—New York Journal of Books
 
“Mary Ann Rivers’s debut full-length, Live, will make you curl up with your box of tissues and cry until you’re not even sure whether they count as happy or sad tears. Rivers’s world and characters feel so real, their emotions so raw, that I need the almost poetic beauty of the words to bear so much truth.”—Heroes and Heartbreakers
 
“This is a rich, tender story, not at all the usual contemporary family series fare. I’m looking forward to seeing where life takes the Burnside siblings next.”—Karen Knows Best
 
“Rivers has written a remarkable romance novel: beautifully . . . written; tormented as only youth can be; serious as only the un-ironic are.”—Miss Bates Reads Romance

“Emotionally enthralling . . . intense, complicated, lyrical, passionate.”—Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews
 
“A stellar start to a new series that is so compelling and emotional, the characters won’t soon be forgotten.”—The Window Seat on a Rainy Day

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
Back to Top