Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Twerp Series

Mark Goldblatt
Twerp by Mark Goldblatt
Finding the Worm (Twerp Sequel) by Mark Goldblatt

Twerp Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own—an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss, and friendship. Perfect for fans of The Sandlot and readers who love books by Jennifer L. Holm, Andrew Clements, and Rebecca Stead.

It’s not a test unless you can fail!

Trouble always seems to find thirteen-year-old Julian Twerski. He’s being framed for something he didn’t do, has insulted the girl he likes, and is trying to help a friend with cancer. He has some tough choices ahead, and the stakes couldn’t be higher. Sometimes life just isn’t fair. But fair or not, the real question is: Will Julian be able to fix things?
 
Praise for Finding the Worm:
 
“Movingly depicts a steadfast friendship. . . . Outstanding.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“Mark Goldblatt writes with humor and heart—his words stick with you like a best friend.” —Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author
 
“Difficult questions about life and death are explored, offering no easy answers. Fans of Twerp will delight in this new tale of friendship with a touch of baseball.” —Booklist
 
“An excellent companion to Twerp, this novel also stands alone.” —School Library Journal
Book 1
It’s not like I meant for him to get hurt. . . .

Julian Twerski isn’t a bully. He’s just made a big mistake. So when he returns to school after a weeklong suspension, his English teacher offers him a deal: if he keeps a journal and writes about the terrible incident that got him and his friends suspended, he can get out of writing a report on Shakespeare. Julian jumps at the chance. And so begins his account of life in sixth grade–blowing up homemade fireworks, writing a love letter for his best friend (with disastrous results), and worrying whether he’s still the fastest kid in school. Lurking in the background, though, is the one story he can’t bring himself to tell, the one story his teacher most wants to hear.

Inspired by Mark Goldblatt’s own childhood growing up in 1960s Queens, Twerp shines with humor and heart. This remarkably powerful story will have readers laughing and crying right along with these flawed but unforgettable characters.

Praise for Twerp:
 
A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year
 
A Junior Library Guild Selection
 
A Summer Top Ten Kids’ Indie Next List Pick

A Sunshine State Award Finalist
 
“Reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. . . . You don’t have to be a twerp to read this book.” —New York Post
 
“A vivid, absorbing story about one boy’s misadventure, heartache, and hope for himself.” —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me
 
“Mark Goldblatt is an amazingly wonderful writer.” —Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library
 
“[Fans of] Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid who have matured beyond the scope and gravity of that series will find a kindred spirit in Julian.” —School Library Journal
 
“Reminiscent of movies like The Sandlot. . . . Well-written and funny.” —The Advocate
 
“Alternately poignant and comical. . . . A thought-provoking exploration of bullying, personal integrity and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“A timely book.” —New York Journal of Books
 
“Elegant in its simplicity and accessibility.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
 
“An empathetic and authentic glimpse into the mind of a sixth-grade boy.” —The Florida Times-Union
 
“Funny, poignant, and an effective commentary on bullying and its consequences.” —The Horn Book Magazine
Back to Top