Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Shadowbane Series

Erik Scott De Bie
Downshadow by Erik Scott de Bie
Shadowbane by Erik Scott de Bie
Shadowbane: Eye of Justice by Erik Scott de Bie

The Shadowbane Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
When Kalen Dren and Myrin Darkdance investigate a friend’s disappearance in Westgate, they find that all is not as it seems
At long last Kalen “Shadowbane” Dren has given up a life of crime to join Myrin on a journey to the city of Westgate. But although Kalen is leaving his vigilante past behind, his high-stakes adventures are far from over—and there are enemies who still yearn to see him fall. Moreover, rumor has it that others have adopted his guise and now deal with violence on their own terms.

The two adventurers leave Luskan for Westgate in search of Kalen’s former apprentice, who they fear is dead. As the pair scours the city, seeking answers to Kalen’s disappearance and to their own destinies, they find that the rumors about the vigilantes are true. But who are these wannabe “Shadowbanes” who wield the vaunted sword Vindicator? Myrin and Kalen have no idea that a game is being played in which they are only pawns.
Book 2
Kalen and Myrin find trouble in the lawless world of Luskan in this fantasy adventure “worth reading and rereading many times” (Ed Greenwood, creator of the Forgotten Realms)

The city of Luskan has always been a den of pirates, thieves, and murderers. But lately, things have gotten much worse. A ship crashes offshore with nothing but corpses. Every day, people go crazy and brutalize those around them. And the only signs that even the most hardened criminals still walk the streets at night are bones.
Luskan’s sister city, Waterdeep, has sent a detachment to quarantine the unclean city—to let the filth within die, rather than infect the rest of the Realms. But wizard Myrin Darkdance has slipped inside, declaring that she will save Luskan. Kalen “Shadowbane” Dren follows, determined to save Myrin and therefore her pet city—even if he has to kill every rat in Luskan to do it.
This expanded ebook also includes a brand-new short story, entitled “A New Purpose”, as well as links to an existing prequel and an original e-novella, featuring characters from Shadowbane. Also included are links to background information on the Abyssal Plague series and sample chapters from other books in the series.

Book 1
In the underbelly of the City of Splendors, a lone vigilante is sworn to rid Waterdeep of its most nefarious citizens
Watchman by day, vigilante by night, Shadowbane keeps to himself as he surveys the labyrinth beneath the city of Waterdeep. It is his duty to ensure safety and order in his city, and he knows all of Waterdeep’s secrets.
However, when a young woman—frightened and fleeing from unknown danger, with no idea of the hidden powers she possesses—arrives in the city, Shadowbane uncovers a secret plot, previously shielded even from his watchful eyes. When his friends start dying and the girl is kidnapped, Shadowbane must choose between the darkness and the light in his heart: to avenge the deaths of his friends, or to let the villain live to face—and possibly escape—justice.

Downshadow is the third book in a series of standalone novels set in Waterdeep and the first book in the Shadowbane series.

Find other titles in

Back to Top