Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav


Troy Carrol Bucher
The Fallen Gods’ War follows two young protagonists from vastly different backgrounds, who must unite their warring cultures to prevent the return of the gods who would destroy all of civilization.
Failure of Descent by Troy Carrol Bucher
Available on (04-26-22)

Failure of Descent

Book 2

FALLEN GODS’ WAR Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
The second book in this epic tale of gods and warriors follows two young individuals trying to unite warring cultures to banish the gods who destroyed their homeland.

Blood calls to blood.

Five years have passed since Riam escaped alone to the southern kingdom of Arillia. Owl Regiment is no more, Master Iwynd is likely dead or imprisoned, and the Draegoran council now rules the north by the point of an often-used blade. Yet despite his grandfather’s efforts to see him free of the regiments, a war is building that Riam’s heritage will not let him escape. Somehow his brother Lemual stands at the center, feeding the flames.

In the tribal lands of the Esharii, Nola’s training as a spirit-taker comes to an abrupt end. It is time to make the choice she most fears–unite the tribes against her former homeland or see it torn apart by the very regiments she was destined to serve. But she has walked the ways of the future, and both choices will cost her, and those around her, more than their lives.

Together, Riam and Nola must return to the lands of the Covenant to stop a war certain to wake the Fallen Gods.
Book 1
In this compelling fantasy from a debut author, two young people must unite two warring cultures to banish the gods who destroyed their homeland.

The Fallen Gods’ War drove the remnants of a victorious army across the ocean in search of a new homeland. A thousand years later, the lifeless continent of Draegora is largely forgotten, a symbol for the regiments that remain. Demons to some. Protectors to others. The power of their god-touched blades has forged a nation, though many resent their absolute control.
Riam and Nola are unknowing descendants of the old world. When it’s discovered they carry enough Draegoran blood to serve in the regiments, they are dragged away from their families to begin training. If they survive, they will be expected to enforce the laws of the covenant, to fight the Esharii tribesmen who raid along the border, and to be judge, jury, and executioners for those accused of crimes.
For Riam, who welcomes his escape from an abusive father, the power to protect those who cannot defend themselves is alluring. For Nola, who wishes to return home, it is a betrayal by all she holds dear.
Neither is given a choice…and neither may ever get the chance to serve.

Lies of Descent begins an epic trilogy of fallen gods, betrayal, and magic—where dark motives often dwell within the true and just, and where the things most feared sometimes lead to salvation.

Find other titles in

Back to Top