Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The ReadDown

Staff Picks: Books We’re Reading at Home

The Penguin Random House community has come together around books, and these are the stories that we’re turning to! Discover what we’re reading this week as we continue to work from home and stay connected to each other. Take a look at our past book recommendations here and here.

  1. 1
    The Travelling Cat Chronicles Book Cover Picture
    The Travelling Cat Chronicles Book Cover Picture

    The Travelling Cat Chronicles

    by Hiro Arikawa

    “A book to remind you that people can come together to help in numerous ways – even people that you haven’t kept in touch with are people you can still connect with!” – Jin Yu, Deputy Marketing Director, Berkley
    The Travelling Cat Chronicles Book Cover Picture
    The Travelling Cat Chronicles Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $20.00

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    Conjure Women Book Cover Picture
    Conjure Women Book Cover Picture

    Conjure Women

    by Afia Atakora

    “About a mother and daughter with a shared talent for healing (and conjuring curses), Conjure Women is instantly mesmerizing and completely immersive. It’s the kind of novel you just get sucked into right from the beginning and can’t put down until you’re done. I highly recommend it for fans of Jesmyn Ward and Toni Morrison.” – Taylor Noel, Marketing Manager, Random House
    Conjure Women Book Cover Picture
    Conjure Women Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    Attachments Book Cover Picture
    Attachments Book Cover Picture

    Attachments

    by Rainbow Rowell

    “I am comfort reading like crazy right now, and Rainbow Rowell’s debut novel Attachments is one of my go-tos. The book is set at the dawn of the new millennium and follows a technician who falls in love with a movie critic through his job of monitoring her newspaper’s e-mail. There are parts of the story that still make me laugh out loud or squee with happiness, and I always feel better after a re-read.” – Farin Schlussel, Assistant Marketing Director, Avery and TarcherPerigee
    Attachments Book Cover Picture
    Attachments Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    I Am, I Am, I Am Book Cover Picture
    I Am, I Am, I Am Book Cover Picture

    I Am, I Am, I Am

    by Maggie O’Farrell

    “Maggie O’Farrell tells the story of her life through seventeen different near-death experiences and the result is absolutely beautiful and harrowing. I couldn’t put it down.” – Katie McKee, Executive Publicity Manager, Putnam
    I Am, I Am, I Am Book Cover Picture
    I Am, I Am, I Am Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Say You're Sorry Book Cover Picture
    Say You're Sorry Book Cover Picture

    Say You’re Sorry

    by Karen Rose

    “Don’t let the size of the book fool you, it’s one of the most compelling reads I’ve read in a LONG time- perfect for true crime fans, this romantic suspense is JUST the escape I needed right now.” – Jess Mangicaro, Assistant Marketing Manager, Berkley
    Say You're Sorry Book Cover Picture
    Say You're Sorry Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Book Cover Picture
    A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Book Cover Picture

    A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder

    by Holly Jackson

    “Whenever I have difficulty trying to find a book that can hold my attention, especially during this time we’re in now – YA is the way for me. And does A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder deliver! This book has all the delicious ingredients for a binge read: including a fierce female protagonist from a small town who knows something is unseemly when it comes to who actually killed popular high school senior, Andie Bell, and will let nothing or no one come between her and the truth! Devoured within 24 hours.” -Katie Taylor, Associate Marketing Director, Putnam
    A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Book Cover Picture
    A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $17.99

    Also available from:

  7. 7
    Know My Name Book Cover Picture
    Know My Name Book Cover Picture

    Know My Name

    by Chanel Miller

    “I was completely blown away by Know My Name. Literally read it in January and knew it would be in my top 5 favorite books for the rest of the year. Her writing is eloquent, compelling, and unflinchingly stunning. I was a little scared to start this book because of the subject matter, but I found her story utterly captivating. She wrote about her trauma in an honest and brutal way, but the book didn’t feel overly heavy or bleak. I admire Chanel so much.” – Laura Hernandez, Associate Digital Marketing Manager, Random House Children’s Books
    Know My Name Book Cover Picture
    Know My Name Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    The Lager Queen of Minnesota Book Cover Picture
    The Lager Queen of Minnesota Book Cover Picture

    The Lager Queen of Minnesota

    by J. Ryan Stradal

    “Captivating prose that makes each sentence better than the last, fascinating characters you want to spend more and more time with, and a wonderful story that keeps you thoroughly engaged! And I don’t even like beer!!” – Publicity Director, Avery and Tarcherperigee
    The Lager Queen of Minnesota Book Cover Picture
    The Lager Queen of Minnesota Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top