Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Girl in Pieces

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Hardcover
Aug 30, 2016 | 416 Pages
See All Formats (4) +
  • Hardcover $18.99

    Aug 30, 2016 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $21.99

    Aug 30, 2016 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $10.99

    Aug 30, 2016 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • CD $55.00

    Aug 30, 2016 | 630 Minutes | Young Adult

  • Audiobook Download $27.50

    Aug 30, 2016 | 643 Minutes | Young Adult

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

A New York Times Bestseller
An Amelia Bloomer Project Award Selection
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens, 2016


A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you’ve read the last page.” —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it’s like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night.”-Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience.”–Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces.”-Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners

Girl, Interrupted for a new generation….The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together.”—Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart and Abandon Me 

Girl In Pieces is like the friend you wish you had by your side for every hard choice and every time you’ve felt lost or alone. It’s fearless and uncompromising, but overflowing with heart and wisdom.”—Anthony Breznican, author of Brutal Youth.
 
Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You’re so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does.”—Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You’re Not You

Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis’ complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety.“-Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love

“Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient.  Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human.“-Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members

In this sharp and beautiful portrait of eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis, Kathleen Glasgow illuminates not only the anxiety of youth but the vulnerability and terror of life in general. What a shock it is to engage with such a sensitive, sad, rage-filled soul: Glasgow’s rendering of experience and emotion is so succinct and honest that I kept catching my breath in recognition, and admiration for her sensibility and empathy which glows on every page. Girl in Pieces hurts my heart in the best way possible.”-Amanda Coplin, author of the New York Times bestseller The Orchadist

“Charlie Davis’ voice is diamond-beautiful and diamond-sharp which, when strung together by a delicious story and memorable characters, creates a rare and powerful read. Kathleen Glasgow’s Girl in Pieces is a treasure of a novel.”-Swati Avasthi, author of Split and Chasing Shadows

Written with wit and authenticity, Girl in Pieces is an extraordinary coming-of-age story, an unsentimental and affecting tale of a girl who almost doesn’t make it to adulthood. Glasgow has a terrific ear for dialogue and an enviable gift for creating vivid characters, and her narrator–eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis–brings a backstreet eloquence to bear on a wrenching subject. Wise, unflinching, and balm for the kind of heartbreak that can’t ever be fully mended, Girl in Pieces is a very, very good novel.“-Summer Wood, author of Arroyo and Raising Wrecker

In Glasgow’s riveting debut novel, readers are pulled close to Charlie’s raw, authentic emotions as she strains to make a jagged path through her new life. Love and trust prove difficult, and Charlie’s judgment is not well honed, but her will to survive is glorious.—Booklist, Starred review

★ “[Readers] will find themselves driven to see Charlie’s story through. They will better understand a world that often makes no sense to outsiders. Glasgow’s debut novel is a dark read, but the engaging writing will win an audience for [Glasgow].”-VOYA, Starred review

Heartbreaking and thick with emotion,…[Girl in Pieces is] for avid fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places or Susanna Kaysen’s Girl Interrupted.“-SLJ

Awards

Georgia Peach Book Award NOMINEE 2017

ALA Best Books for Young Adults SELECTION

Amelia Bloomer List Recommended Title SELECTION 2017

Bank Street College Best Children’s Book of the Year SELECTION 2017

Kansas State Reading Circle Award SELECTION 2017

Michigan Reading Association Great Lakes Book Award SELECTION 2017

New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age SELECTION 2016

New York Times Bestseller SELECTION 2016

YALSA Best Books for Young Adults SELECTION 2017

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top