Hardcover $25.00

Apr 11, 2017 | 304 Pages

Ebook $12.99

Apr 11, 2017 | 304 Pages

Audiobook Download $17.50

Apr 11, 2017 | 480 Minutes

  • Hardcover $25.00

    Apr 11, 2017 | 304 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    Apr 11, 2017 | 304 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House

Praise

Praise for Long Black Veil:

“Boylan, who has reaped praise in recent years with memoirs exploring her transgender experience, doesn’t miss a storytelling beat in her first novel as she blends atmospheric elements of a Shirley Jackson–like haunting, a secret-laden murder tale featuring an ensemble cast, and an eye-opening glimpse of the complex choices transgender people face. This crime debut is certain to attract a genre-blurring following, but recommendations to fans of Erin Kelly’s The Poison Tree and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History are sure bets.”
Booklist (starred)

“This is a nifty little setup for a thriller, and Boylan uses the murder mystery as a frame for interrogating our ideas about identity in ways that are both thoughtful and darkly comic. A trans woman, Boylan is best known as a memoirist and an activist, and the trans character in this novel adds a layer of intrigue and complexity…. Boylan is skilled at creating intriguing, three-dimensional characters; even those characters who prove to be inconsequential emerge as real, unique individuals…. It’s hard to stop reading as these well-crafted characters confront middle age while confronting the defining event of their youth.”
Kirkus


“This is Boylan’s best book.  It’s one of the most eloquent pleas for empathy and moral imagination I’ve ever encountered.”  
— RICHARD RUSSO, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Nobody’s Fool 

“In the tradition of Donna Tartt, Jennifer Finney Boylan has crafted a thriller that’s intellectual, existential, and compulsively readable.  If change is the only constant in life, how much can a person reinvent himself and still be the same?  Long after the last page is turned, you will be thinking about the nature of identity, the pull of the past, and whether you can ever outrun the person you used to be.”
– JODI PICOULT, New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and Leaving Time
 
“Jennifer Finney Boylan rewards her fans with a riveting whodunit. The plot shapeshifts along with the unforgettable characters–including a woman whose family could be dismantled by her long-buried secrets. All this is rendered in Jenny’s signature hilarious, wise and wise-assed prose. Bravo, Boylan, bring us another one!”
– MARY KARR, New York Times bestselling author of Liar’s Club, Lit and Cherry


Praise for the work of Jennifer Finney Boylan


“There’s quite a story here. Ms. Boylan tells it with disarming humor and a sharp eye. . . . She’s Not There . . . brings irreverence and a merrily outrageous sense of humor to this potentially serious business. . . . Tender as well as funny.”
JANET MASLIN, New York Times

“Jenny Boylan’s I’m Looking Through You ranks right up there with Mary Karr’s The Liar’s Club and Tobias Wolff’s This Boy’s Life as one of the finest literary memoirs of the last several decades. Like these, it’s a haunting revelation of the human heart, its terrible longings, its fears and joys, the secret recesses where we most truly dwell. How alike we all are, down this deep.”
— RICHARD RUSSO, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls

Product Details

Back to Top