Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
A Bittersweet Season by Jane Gross
Add A Bittersweet Season to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

A Bittersweet Season

Best Seller
A Bittersweet Season by Jane Gross
Paperback $18.00
May 01, 2012 | ISBN 9780307472403

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • $18.00

    May 01, 2012 | ISBN 9780307472403

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Apr 26, 2011 | ISBN 9780307596680

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details


“Unique and lovely. . . . How wonderful to have [Gross’s] mix of sage advice, pithy insights and practical discoveries at hand.” —Abraham Verghese, author of Cutting for Stone

“Nothing can fully prepare you for the overwhelming experience of caring for your elderly parents, but Jane Gross’s new book, A Bittersweet Season, comes awfully close . . . Gross is an incisive critic of our systems and institutions.” —The Seattle Times

“A forthright story and trenchant advice. . . . Intimate and affecting.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A smart and highly detailed book about navigating the complex eldercare system as it related to healthcare, insurance and end of life. . . . The kind of book social workers might suggest to the family who craves more perspective about the logistical issues mentioned above. . . . Readers will find they are engaged by how much they learn in reading Gross’s account.” —Psychology Today

“Hugely informative, and a gripping read.” —Betty Rollin, author of Last Wish

A Bittersweet Season is sure to become required reading for anyone with an elderly parent who depends on long-term care. It’s also a worthwhile read for anyone who is interested in America’s health care system as it braces for the demands posed by demographic changes that include a sharp rise in the group now termed the “old old.” —The Huffington Post

“An invaluable guide. . . . Excellent. . . . . Jane Gross has taken her own painful experiences and worked hard to give needed help to us all.” —Commonweal Magazine
“With great insight and empathy, Jane Gross guides us through one of the most difficult of all life transitions—the decline and death of our parents. Not only does she provide a wonderfully helpful guide for how and what to do, and when. She also enables us to understand what our parents need, and what we ourselves need, during this passage.” —Robert B. Reich, author of Aftershock
 “This is tough stuff, and Gross writes movingly about the toll it takes on her and other caregivers. . . . She’s serious about documenting the often hidden workload borne by middle-aged daughters and sons.” —The Boston Globe

“A Bittersweet Season deals with a sobering topic. But the narrative is so lively and informative that readers will come away feeling more prepared than pessimistic . . . An intelligent guide to handling the onset of old age with sagacity and sensitivity.” —BookPage

“This book is an invaluable and comprehensive primer on what most Americans will face soon.  Its honest and loving message is to prepare yourself now.” —Jeff Madrick, author of Age of Greed

“Readers may pick up this very well-written book to learn about taking care of their own ailing parents, but will soon realize that it’s also a wake-up call to become educated in order to make informed decisions about their own inevitable aging.” —The New York Jewish Week

“A Bittersweet Season is a brave and compelling book by a masterful storyteller.” —Carol Levine, director, Families and Health Care Project, United Hospital Fund

Table Of Contents

Prologue: Finding Our Better Selves
Chapter 1: The Early Heroic Rush
Chapter 2: The Myth of Assisted Living
Chapter 3: The Vestiges of Family Medicine
Chapter 4: A Job for Professionals
Chapter 5: The Best Doctors Money Can Buy
Chapter 6: September Eleventh
Chapter 7: September Twelfth
Chapter 8: The Biology, Sociology, and Psychology of Aging
Chapter 9: A Nursing Home Thanksgiving
Chapter 10: The Make-A-Wish Foundation
Chapter 11: Follow the Money
Chapter 12: Therapeutic Fibs
Chapter 13: Cruel Sorting
Chapter 14: As Complicated as a Rubik’s Cube
Chapter 15: The Time for Talking
Chapter 16: N-O-W
Chapter 17: Dying Days
Chapter 18: Orphans
Epilogue: Lost and Found

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top