Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

Petaybee Trilogy Series

Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Powers That Be by Anne McCaffrey & Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Power Lines by Anne McCaffrey & Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Power Play by Anne McCaffrey & Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

Petaybee Trilogy Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
“Riveting . . . exciting . . . The writing and characterization, as well as the infusions of Celtic ­and Inuit lore, remain of high quality.”—Booklist

Petaybee is growing up. Day by day, the feeling planet—like any child—is learning to recognize and understand the meaning of outside stimuli, to respond to those stimuli, to communicate its own needs and desires . . . even to use human speech. Yanaba Maddock has appointed herself defender of her adopted planet, and has even succeeded in proving its sentience to nonbelievers. But despite her efforts, few outsiders truly care for the emotions and intelligence of what they perceive to be a giant hunk of rock. Then Yanaba is kidnapped. The price of her freedom: control of the planet itself. But the only one who can speak for Petaybee is Petaybee—and no one knows what a living planet can do once it finds its voice. . . .

“Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough collaborate seamlessly to tell a first-rate sf adventure.”—Library Journal, on Power Lines
Book 2
The spellbinding sequel to “Powers That Be,” by Hugo and Nebula Award-winning authors Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough.

The natives of Petaybee claimed their planet was sentient, but the officials of Intergal did not believe them . . . or want to believe them. The planet was rich in valuable ore, and Intergal was determined to mine that ore no matter what the cost. Yanaba Maddock, once a company spy, was adopted by the planet and its people as one of their own. Now her loyalties are to Petaybee, not Intergal, and she is dedicated to keeping Intergal from killing the world she has come to love. But without proof of the planet’s sentience, Intergal will proceed with its mining operations. Can Yana find a way to convince Intergal of Petaybee’s sentience before it is too late?
Book 1
From the Hugo and Nebula award-winning authors comes the Petaybee series, full of gripping fantasy and daring adventure.
Strange things are happening on the icy planet of Petaybee: Unauthorized genetically engineered species have been spotted; geologic survey teams sent to locate newly detected mineral deposits are either coming up empty or disappearing altogether. And the locals aren’t talking—especially not to the company bent on exploiting the planet. 

Disabled combat veteran Yanaba Maddock seems to be the perfect spy for the company. The frailty that was a liability in the military allows her to gain the trust of the Petaybean natives. But miraculously, with Yana’s relocation to the arctic planet comes the return of her health and strength. And the closer she gets to the people of Petaybee, the more determined she is to protect her new home. For something unusual and wonderful is happening on Petaybee. Something worth fighting for, even dying for—but especially, something worth living for. . . .

Find other titles in

Back to Top