Walking to Gatlinburg

Paperback $15.00

Broadway Books | Mar 01, 2011 | 352 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307450685

  • Paperback$15.00

    Broadway Books | Mar 01, 2011 | 352 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307450685

  • Ebook$11.99

    Crown | Mar 02, 2010 | ISBN 9780307450944

Praise

Praise for Walking to Gatlinburg

An Indie Next Notable Pick

“Mosher is a rare storyteller, able to both instruct and entertain, and he brings all his talents to this unforgettable and unique novel.”
BookPage

“A Civil War odyssey in the tradition of Charles Frazier’s Cold Mountain and Robert Olmstead’s Coal Black Horse, Mosher’s latest, about a Vermont teenager’s harrowing journey south to find his missing-in-action brother, is old-fashioned in the best sense of the word….The story of Morgan’s rite-of-passage through an American arcadia despoiled by war and slavery is an engrossing tale with mass appeal.
Publisher’s Weekly

“We are in the hands of a skilled storyteller, and every word matters. A captivating story, and one that cries for a sequel.”
Kirkus, starred review

“[A] haunting and hallucinatory novel….Historical realism this isn’t but it is a violent, often puzzling picaresque with an invigorating take on the Underground Railroad and an unsettling vision of an America despoiled by the War between the States.”
Booklist

Praise for Howard Frank Mosher

“Mosher is an old-fashioned writer, a storyteller of the first order; he has written a page-turner in the best sense of the word.”
Boston Globe
 
“A combination of Ernest Hemingway, Henry David Thoreau, and Jim Harrison.”
Los Angeles Times
 
“Mosher calls to mind the best of Mark Twain – mischievous, touching, and very funny.”
Carl Hiaasen
 
 “Rollicking, boisterous, sprawling, and highly entertaining.”
–Harper’s Magazine
 
“Revives the tall tale with remarkable grace and intelligence … delightful.”
Washington Post
 
“Mosher is a gifted storyteller with a solid sense of place and history.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer
 
“One of our very best writers … Mosher offers us a landscape, both natural and human, worth knowing, worth believing in.”
Richard Russo


From the Hardcover edition.

Related Articles

#WhereBooksLive
Back to Top