Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Ian McEwan

Photo of Ian McEwan

Photo: © Jeremy Sutton-Hibbert

About the Author

IAN MCEWAN is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen novels and two short story collections. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement GardenEnduring LoveAmsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; AtonementSaturdayOn Chesil BeachSolarSweet ToothThe Children ActNutshell; and Machines Like Me, which was a number-one bestseller. AtonementEnduring Love, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach have all been adapted for the big screen.

Sign me up for news about Ian McEwan and more from Penguin Random House


Advice for aspiring writers | Ian McEwan

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates from Ian McEwan
We’ll send you the latest updates from Ian McEwan
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top