Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Jim Thompson

Photo of Jim Thompson

Photo: © Michael J. Balzano (illustration)

About the Author

(1906 – 1977) James Meyers Thompson was born in Anadarko, Oklahoma. He began writing fiction at a very young age, selling his first story to True Detective when he was only fourteen. Thompson eventually wrote twenty-nine novels, all but three of which were published as paperback originals. Thompson also wrote two screenplays (for the Stanley Kubrick films “The Killing” and “Paths of Glory”). An outstanding crime writer, the world of his fiction is rife with violence and corruption. In examining the underbelly of human experience and American society in particular, Thompson’s work at its best is both philosophical and experimental. Several of his novels have been filmed by American and French directors, resulting in classic noir including The Killer Inside Me (1952), After Dark My Sweet (1955), and The Grifters (1963).

Sign me up for news about Jim Thompson and more from Penguin Random House

Books by Jim Thompson published by IDW Publishing

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates from Jim Thompson
We’ll send you the latest updates from Jim Thompson
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top