Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Lager Queen of Minnesota

Best Seller
The Lager Queen of Minnesota by J. Ryan Stradal
CD
Jul 23, 2019 | 660 Minutes
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $28.00

    Jul 23, 2019 | ISBN 9781524778422

  • Hardcover $26.00

    Jul 23, 2019 | ISBN 9780399563058

  • Ebook $12.99

    Jul 23, 2019 | ISBN 9780399563072

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Lager Queen of Minnesota

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Lager Queen of Minnesota:

“This charmer of a tale is a loving ode to the Midwest, the power of persistence and, perhaps above all, beer. . . Warm, witty and–like any good craft beer–complex, the saga delivers a subtly feminist and wholly life-affirming message.”
—People Magazine

“This generous spirit makes The Lager Queen of Minnesota a pleasure to read and the perfect pick-me-up on a hot summer day.”
—Washington Post

“Delightfully intoxicating. . . will make you smile with its droll humor, and its poignant moments will stop you to reread and confirm that they are really that good. In beer-geek slang, Stradal’s novel is ‘crushable’ — easygoing, well-balanced, super-drinkable with tons of flavor … and will make you go back for more.” 
—USA Today

“In Stradal’s follow-up to his best-selling debut, Kitchens of the Great Midwest, the Minnesota native’s energetic prose once again captures the optimism of the heartland.”
—Time Magazine

“Complex female characters, tragedies, and descriptions. . . will awaken all your senses. . . The book is The Lager Queen of Minnesota, but this release could cement J. Ryan Stradal as the King of Midwestern novels.” 
Entertainment Weekly

“I read J. Ryan Stradal’s Kitchens of the Great Midwest on a flight. I buckled my seatbelt, opened the book and when I looked up again, the flight attendant was asking if I needed assistance getting off the plane. I didn’t, but now you know the spell this author can cast. He does it again with The Lager Queen of Minnesota.
Elisabeth Egan for The New York Times

“The fortunes and foibles of a brewery mirror the relationship between two sisters tussling over a family farm in this quirky, enchanting novel reminiscent of Jane Smiley’s A Thousand Acres.” 
—O Magazine

“Everything about this book satisfies — from how the characters grow to how beer-making is described to Stradal’s hilarious assessment of lagers vs. IPAs. You may never drink a beer in ignorance again.” 
—The Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Wonderful. . . Stradal’s gift for getting the reader to invest in these lives is particularly profound.”
—The Chicago Tribune

“Delightful.” 
—New York Post

“Stradal’s second novel goes down easy. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a ‘can-do’ attitude, this warm, witty novel willappeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer.” 
—Booklist (starred)

“This book tastes great, is quite filling and never bitter.” 
—BookPage (starred)

“Stradal’s writing is sharp and funny while still managing to treat each character with warmth and respect. . .  this is an ultimately hopeful and heartwarming story. . . . Readers will love watching these truly original characters overcome their challenges and take care of each other. An absolutely delightful read, perfect for a summer day with a good beer and a piece of pie.” 
—Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“Refreshing. . .This story about how a family business succeeds with generations of strong and determined women at the helm makes for a sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always winning novel.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Brilliant. . . a love letter to the Midwest. . . it’s hard to put down not only because the storytelling is so seamless and the characters so relatable, but because the author’s delight in the written word is so contagious.” 
—Jen Sincero, #1 New York Times bestselling author of You Are a Badass

“Utterly charming. . .  Stradal loves and knows his territory, and his affection for the Midwest—with all its stubbornness, stoicism, long memories, readiness to provide aid and quiet pride in excellence–gleams on every page.” 
—Janet Fitch, bestselling author of The Revolution of Marina M.

“The Lager Queen of Minnesota
 is pure reading joy: warm, funny, informative, and full of heart. It is impossible not to root for Stradal’s characters, who are so vivid, and relatable that you will miss them every time you set the book down; indeed, if you set it down at all.” 
—Jonathan Evison, New York Times bestselling author of Lawn Boy

“Warm, whimsical, incredibly well-written and infused with Stradal’s signature sympathy for his characters–those everyday heroes we all know and love. . . a thorough delight, from beginning to end.”
—Nickolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs 

“Full of the easy-to-love quaffability of a perfect ale, Stradal’s The Lager Queen of Minnesota will warm your heart. With empathy, love, wisdom and humor on every page, I wish I could go back for more.” 
–Jade Chang, author of The Wangs vs. The World

“The Lager Queen of Minnesota is the kind of book you think about all day, while at work, while speaking to someone else, while in line at the market. . . . I loved this book so much. I carried it with me like a talisman, marveling at the unique storytelling of J. Ryan Stradal, who knows his people so well. It’s a portrait of America, of place and land and neighborhood, and, of course, a celebration of beer.”
—Susan Straight, author of Highwire Moon

“A book to make you laugh and cry and believe the best days of your life are still in front of you.”
Ben Loory, author of Tales of Falling and Flying

Back to Top