Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones by Namina Forna
Audiobook Download
May 31, 2022 | ISBN 9780593505892 | 868 Minutes

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Apr 04, 2023 | ISBN 9781984848741 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 31, 2022 | ISBN 9781984848727 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 31, 2022 | ISBN 9781984848734 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 31, 2022 | ISBN 9780593505892 | Young Adult

    868 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones

Product Details

Praise

“This action-packed sequel is even more thrilling than the first.”—Buzzfeed

“Catch up now before Forna’s planned trilogy is turned into the next major movie franchise.”—E! Online

“The second installment in Namina Forma’s West African-inspired fantasy series, this follow-up to The Gilded Ones doubles down on what made its predecessor so good: The rich, thoroughly lived-in world building full of details that are so unlike almost everything else in this genre space.”—Paste

★ ”This book shimmers like gold. Add it to your library shelves to dazzle voracious readers.”—School Library Journal, starred review

Praise for The Gilded Ones


“Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy.” —Refinery 29

“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” —BuzzFeed

“The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun.” —Tor

“Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world.”—POPSUGAR

“Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi’s Children of Blood and Bone.” —PureWow

“A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!” —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

“Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws.” —Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

“An enthralling debut. The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful.” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval
 
The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch.” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

“Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna’s breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best fantasy of 2021.” —Kim Johnson, author of This is My America

“An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut.” —Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

“A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn’t let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart.” —Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow

“While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more.”
Booklist, starred review

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top