Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Harrow

Best Seller
Harrow by Joy Williams
Hardcover $26.00
Sep 14, 2021 | ISBN 9780525657569

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Sep 14, 2021 | ISBN 9780525657569

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Sep 14, 2021 | ISBN 9780525657576

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Harrow

Product Details

Praise

“A magnificent and moving novel [that excavates] the middle distance between silence and experience . . . Harrow is a piece of writing in the vein of Samuel Beckett or Franz Kafka, its humor weaponized by rage.” —David L. Ulin, Los Angeles Times

Harrow belongs at the front of the pack of recent climate fiction . . . A crabby, craggy, comfortless, arid, erudite, obtuse, perfect novel, a singular entry in a singular body of work by an artist of uncompromised originality and vision . . . To read this novel is to know and to be known (Galatians 4:9) by a profound and comfortless alterity, to encounter the cosmic otherness at the very core of the self. What else do you want me to tell you? As I’ve said, it’s also funny. I really did laugh a lot. Five stars.” —Justin Taylor, Bookforum

“Death-haunted and perfectly indescribable fiction . . . To read Williams is to look into the abyss . . . [She] remains our great prophet of nothingness.” —Anthony Domestico, The Atlantic
 
“The ridiculous, pigheaded, bemused, endlessly distracted and continuously self-sabotaging state of the future is the subject of this wonderfully goading satire . . . A blackly comic portrait of futility . . . This is sarcasm of a high, artistic order, reminiscent of no one quite so much as William Gaddis.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“Elegantly deranged . . . A hypnotizing novel, funny in places and chilling in others, filled with wacky and tragic characters, that unspools the absurdity in just one of our many very possible bad futures.” —Emily Temple, Literary Hub

“Williams’s tone achiev[es] a new, perfectly hostile register . . . [Her] vision of an annihilated earth seems to have flown from the brain of Francisco Goya . . . As the novel continues, it plumbs ever-deeper zones of dystopian weirdness . . . She practices a kind of hallucinogenic realism, which takes at face value the psychological flights of characters deranged by loss . . . Williams has long written to the side of conventional English, pursuing a form that feels more commensurate with actual experience—with the terror, comedy, and mystery of moving through the world.” —Katy Waldman, The New Yorker

“Who better than Williams to capture pure-hearted but absurd efforts to retrieve paradise lost?” The Millions

“Balancing creeping despair with mordant humor and piquant strangeness . . . Williams asks if hope and compassion, reason and responsibility can survive once the wonders of wild and flourishing nature have been utterly destroyed. Brilliantly and exquisitely shrewd and unnerving.” —Donna Seaman, Booklist (starred review)

“An enigmatic, elegant meditation on the end of civilization—if end it truly is . . . As the clock ticks away, Williams seeds her story with allusions to Kafka, bits of Greek mythology, philosophical notes on the nature of tragedy, and gemlike description, and all along with subtly sardonic humor . . . A memorable return for renowned storyteller Williams after a lengthy absence from long form fiction.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Awards

Kirkus Prize for Fiction FINALIST 2021

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Joy Williams
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top