Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
I Am on the Hit List by Rollo Romig
Add I Am on the Hit List to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

I Am on the Hit List

Best Seller
I Am on the Hit List by Rollo Romig
Paperback $18.00
Aug 06, 2024 | ISBN 9780143135289

Preorder from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • $18.00

    Aug 06, 2024 | ISBN 9780143135289

    Preorder from:

  • Aug 06, 2024 | ISBN 9780525506959

    Preorder from:

  • Aug 06, 2024 | ISBN 9780593907801

    540 Minutes

    Preorder from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details


“If you want to understand the grave threat to democracy in present-day India, and South India in particular, you could do no better than to read Rollo Romig’s gripping book of reportage. It’s a murder mystery, travelogue, and deeply felt homage to Romig’s adopted country. Reading it will inform and outrage you. (It will also make you crave a dosa).”—Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City

“Rollo Romig is a powerful storyteller. I Am on the Hit List, he charts India’s strident march towards autocracy by telling the remarkable story of Gauri Lankesh —her life, death, and the ideas that made her dangerous. Romig writes with lyricism and empathy, fear and hope in equal measure, telling stories within stories that meander across three southern states.”—Suchitra Vijayan, author of Midnight’s Borders
“Romig’s fascinating book carries the beguiling title of a Bollywood potboiler, but I Am on the Hit List is much more than that. It is a gripping, multifaceted inquiry into the nature of India itself — an exploration of its mythologies, its faiths, and of the battle currently being lost by secularists in the face of rising Hindu nationalism in the era of Narendra Modi. Along the way, readers meet a cast of characters that include bluntly-spoken journalists, philosophical mobsters, and mystical preachers of violence. What emerges is a portrait of an India caught in the grip of rapid change and a scarily uncertain future.”—Jon Lee Anderson, author of Che Guevara

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top