Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

The Visitors

Best Seller
The Visitors by Greg Howard
Hardcover $16.99
Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593111888

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593111888 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593111895 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593503256 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    406 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Visitors

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Visitors:

Beautiful, bracing, heartbreaking, and uplifting in equal measure. Not to mention deliciously creepy. Just wow.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and Aru Shah and The End of Time

“Howard’s intriguing novel . . . is smoothly written, the characters are appealing, and some surprises keep the plot percolating. A ghost story of substance.” —Booklist

“Howard’s fourth novel is ambitious in form and quite successful in that regard; the perspective shifts between the first-person ghost in the present day and a third-person story about a White boy named Will Perkins, bullied for his same-sex attraction by his father, former best friend, and other classmates. There’s a bit of mystery about who the narrator is as well as an interesting—and heartbreaking—twist. . . An atmospheric reckoning with the past and present, heavy but rewarding.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Greg Howard’s latest book, The Visitors, truly has something for every reader: a haunting ghost story, a decades old mystery, a bit of history, and characters—both living and dead—you root for. An important page-turner!“ —Bobbie Pyron, author of Stay and A Pup Called Trouble

“Author Greg Howard deals compassionately with tough issues like racism, homophobia, and bias, both individual and systemic, but manages to avoid preachiness and weave lessons from both history and today into a compelling, atmospheric, and original tale. . . While the story deals with intense issues, the ending offers an uplift of hope.” —Mombian

Praise for The Whispers:

A 2022 Garden State Book Award Nominee
A 2020 Edgar Award Nominee
A 2020 Wisconsin State Just One More Page List Pick

“This taut, moving tale delves beyond loss into issues of sexuality, conformity and self-acceptance…a masterful exploration into the power of storytelling but also its dangers, including self-denial and escapism.” —The New York Times Book Review

A dreamy novel recalling Bridge to Terabithia.” —Entertainment Weekly

★ “This is a story of a boy coming to grips with heartbreak and trying to understand why he is the way he is, who must learn to discern what is real, and who discovers redemption.” —School Library Connection, starred review

Praise for Middle School’s A Drag, You Better Werk!:


“This fun, funny, and heartfelt novel will leave you feeling hopeful and triumphant!” —Donna Gephart, award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin, In Your Shoes, and The Paris Project

“A funny, fabulous, and ultimately life-affirming story that will uplift and entertain young readers from many different backgrounds. So, should you check this one out? Mikey says, yas queen!” —Booklist

A heartwarming story perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Better Nate Than Ever.” —School Library Journal

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Greg Howard
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top