Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Bad Actors by Mick Herron
Add Bad Actors to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
Bad Actors by Mick Herron
Hardcover $27.95
May 10, 2022 | ISBN 9781641293372

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Apr 04, 2023 | ISBN 9781641294584

    Also available from:

  • May 10, 2022 | ISBN 9781641293372

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 10, 2022 | ISBN 9781641293389

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Bad Actors

Crime Reads Best New Crime Fiction for May


“What spurs me to keep reading each new installment is Herron’s absurdist voice, which could devolve into cheap cynicism but never does. That’s why the Slough House denizens, from Jackson Lamb to Roddy Ho to newcomer Ashley Kahn, maintain pathos in the face of parody—they may be bitter, but they have pride in themselves and their work.”
—Sarah Weinman, The New York Times Book Review

“This motley group would never be mistaken for James Bond, but they could easily be compared with the paper sales staff of ‘The Office.’ . . . Herron mixes dry humor, musings on British and global politics, and superbly developed characters.”
—Oline Cogdill, The South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Herron’s plots are masterpieces of convolution and elegant wrong-footing. Beyond that, his action scenes are fast-paced and thrilling—there are a couple of high-octane doozies in this installment. But the real draw of the series is its dark, dark humor . . . One of the most enjoyable series I have ever read.”
—Katherine A. Powers, Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“Eight novels in, Herron’s Slough House books prove he’s one of the best and wittiest writers to follow in the tradition of Len Deighton and John le Carré . . . The twists and fights are both bloody and funny and done with Herron’s own spy lingo, which gives it all panache. In short, a delight. In short, a delight.”
—Margaret Cannon, The Globe and Mail

“More proof that, though there may be spy novels with sentences as impeccable as Herron’s, it’s unlikely there are spy novels that are also as funny . . . Exemplary.”
—Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

“Sensational . . . Herron brings his inimitable style to cat-and-mouse action and continues with his vivid portrait of the so-called ‘intelligence’ world.”
—CrimeReads

“Highly entertaining.”
—Seattle Book Review

“A send-up of contemporary British international espionage that turns a jaundiced, droll eye on the undercurrents and corruption of government.”
—Foreword Reviews

If le Carré brought moral ambiguity to the spy novel in place of Bondian glamour, Herron one-ups the master by showing us that ambiguity has its uncouth comedic side.”
Booklist, Starred Review

“An outstanding mix of arch humor, superb characterizations, and trenchant political observations.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Praise for the Slough House Series

 
“Intricate plotting, full of twists . . . Herron can certainly write a real spy story, with all the misdirection and sleight of hand that requires. But it’s the surly Slough House mood, the eccentric characters, and Herron’s very black, very dry sense of humor that made me read one after the other without a break.”
—Laura Miller, Slate.com

“I’ll tell you what, to have been lucky enough to play Smiley in one’s career; and now go and play Jackson Lamb in Mick Herron’s novels—the heir, in a way, to le Carré—is a terrific thing.”
—Gary Oldman
 
“Confirms Mick Herron as the best spy novelist now working.”
—NPR’s Fresh Air

 
“Out of a wickedly imagined version of MI5, [Herron] has spun works of diabolical plotting and high-spirited cynicism, their pages filled with sardonic wit . . . Happily for Mr. Herron—if alas for us—events continue to produce rich material for his special gifts, and we hope he is scribbling away making good use of it all.”
The Wall Street Journal
 
“Heroic struggles, less-heroic failures and a shoot-out-cum-heist . . . with no let-up in the page turning throughout.”
Esquire

“Herron’s strength is in examining at close hand the absurdities, conflicts, and dangers of the intelligence agency as an institution at the center of some of the most central conflicts in the 21st century.”
Los Angeles Review of Books

“Unbeatable entertainment for thriller fans.”
—Library Journal
, Starred Review

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Mick Herron
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top