Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

The Weaver and the Witch Queen

Best Seller
The Weaver and the Witch Queen by Genevieve Gornichec
Audiobook Download
Jul 25, 2023 | ISBN 9780593675335 | 986 Minutes

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Jun 11, 2024 | ISBN 9780593438251

    Preorder from:

  • Jul 25, 2023 | ISBN 9780593438244

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 25, 2023 | ISBN 9780593438268

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Weaver and the Witch Queen

Product Details

Praise

“Intimate and sweeping, richly detailed and propulsive, tragic and uplifting, The Weaver and the Witch Queen proves Genevieve Gornichec really can do it all. Oddny and Gunnhild’s story is epic, timeless, and most of all honest in its portrayal of the indomitable strength of women, the joys and pains of sisterhood, and the limitless power of love in all its many forms.”
-Vaishnavi Patel, New York Times bestselling author of Kaikeyi

“Gornichec is a masterful storyteller, crafting remarkable characters full of bravery and heart, a rich world, and the intimate and unbreakable bonds of sisterhood and love. I was both moved and fascinated by this wonderful historical fantasy – epic, tragic, with a slow burn enemies-to-lovers romance.”
–Sue Lynn Tan, bestselling author of Daughter of the Moon Goddess.


“The women will do everything in their power to find their blood-sworn sister, and Gornichec carefully weaves multiple story lines full of political upheaval, romance, and self-discovery into their quest…there’s plenty to enjoy in this lush, Norse mythology-infused world. Fans of Circe and The Book of Gothel will be especially enchanted.”
Publishers Weekly

“An epic novel about magic, sisterhood, and the bonds that can both bind and break us. This story stayed with me long after I finished reading.”
–Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching

“Gornichec showcases her knowledge of Icelandic folklore and history, while her storytelling reveals the complex and engrossing lives and emotions of her characters.”
Library Journal


“From the moment I picked up The Weaver and the Witch Queen, I was enthralled. This is a rich, magical reimagining of Viking history, with all the bloodshed, tragedy and tangled webs of fate required of any great epic—but it is above all a gloriously woven tapestry of love, loyalty, and the extraordinary bonds of sisterhood.”
–Sangu Mandanna, national bestselling author of The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

“Gornichec presents a page-turner that gives readers a look into prejudices and what one can see when looking past them. It’s a lesson in knowing someone truly to the core, creating bonds that cannot be broken. Friendship, love, power, and resilience reign in this historical fantasy full of witches, Vikings, raids, and braids.”
Booklist

“Entwines impeccable storytelling, fascinating historical detail and characters so nuanced and mercilessly human that I fell for every one of them and still can’t let them go. Give me everything Gornichec writes—I will devour it.”
H.M. Long, author of Hall of Smoke

“A saga of blood and magic and hardship that explores what we owe to those we love—and what it costs to actually pay that debt.”
–BookPage

“Beautifully woven and achingly human…a masterful tale about sisterhood, destiny, and what we’re willing to do for the people we love. Gunnhild and Oddny’s journeys cut to the heart of what it feels like to be right and wrong, together and alone, bold and afraid, all at once. I loved it.”
–Allison Epstein, author of A Tip for the Hangman

“They say your second book is the hardest one to write, but Genevieve Gornichec – leaning on her Norse mythology love yet again as with debut The Witch’s Heart – performs a magic hat trick with her sophomore novel…The ingredients are there for a heroine’s journey and the result is a delicious Christmas pudding – crunchy, sweet, rich and a little bit hot once you set it on fire.”
Associated Press


“Gornichec’s book takes the scant details about the historical Gunhild’s life-her author’s note has some helpful details about which specific sagas her story draws from-and spins them into a rich and magical tale of sisterhood and survival, revenge and sacrifice, with a satisfying dollop of enemies to lovers romance and trans representation on top. The historical world she constructs is rich and vivid, full of the sort of lived-in, careful details that make the setting come alive on the page.”
Paste

“A breathtaking saga of a novel that brims with page-turning tension and wit, impeccable historical and cultural detail, and heroines that are at once fierce and complex but also full of true heart and soul.”
–Olesya Salnikova Gilmore, author of The Witch and the Tsar

“Filled with sea voyages, political intrigue, surprise betrayals, and tender love, this historical fantasy will thrill readers and capture their hearts.”
Shelf Awareness

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top