Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Star That Always Stays by Anna Rose Johnson
Add The Star That Always Stays to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
The Star That Always Stays by Anna Rose Johnson
Paperback $10.99
Sep 05, 2023 | ISBN 9780823456109

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Sep 05, 2023 | ISBN 9780823456109 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 12, 2022 | ISBN 9780823450404 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 12, 2022 | ISBN 9780823452897 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

“Johnson’s writing is gentle, unhurried and reflective—with touches of humor and heartbreak.”—NPR

“Lovingly woven from the threads left for debut author Anna Rose Johnson by her ancestors from the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. . . . She showcases Norvia, a courageous young hero navigating complex family dynamics, the pressure to pass, and universal daily-life challenges. . . . Pairs well with The Birchbark House.”Cynthia Leitich Smith, NYT-bestselling author of Ancestor Approved, Rain Is Not My Indian Name, and Sisters of the Neversea

“Unputdownable. You’ll cheer for Norvia as she navigates her way to joy in spite of change, prejudice, and heartbreak.”Anne Bustard, author of Parents’ Choice Book Award Winner Blue Skies

“This is a new classic in the making.”—The Southern Bookseller Review

“Touching historical fiction.”Detroit Public Radio

“Johnson (Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians) combines family history with an homage to such classics as Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, and Pollyanna. . . . An engaging work of historical fiction.”—The Horn Book

“A beautiful historical novel, based on the author’s family. . . . A heartfelt novel about embracing one’s identity, appreciating what the past has taught, and finding the courage to move forward.”Booklist

“Inspiring. . . . [Based on] the author’s family history, this gentle novel nimbly and tenderly confronts topics including prejudice, the challenge of blending families, young love, and staying true to oneself.”—Kirkus Reviews

“An intimate tale chronicling an Indigenous 14-year-old’s life in a new city. . . . An introspective, unhurried debut, filled with personal touches.”—Publishers Weekly

“Charming. . . Sweetly old-fashioned. . . . Sensitive.”—Buffalo News

“[Johnson] has dealt affectionately but with honesty and clarity in describing a young girl’s struggle. . . . The strength of this novel is the gentle warmth of its tone.”—The Historical Novel Society

“A sensitive coming-of-age story about identity, prejudice, and confidence in your own skin.”—A Mighty Girl

“Enchanting. . . Lots of Anne of Green Gables vibes, but from an Indigenous American perspective and with more modern sensibilities.”Book Riot

“This coming-of-age story with a strong heroine is perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables.”Parnassus Books

“This coming-of-age story finds Norvia learning how to navigate high school, figuring out how to love both her absent father and new stepfather, and finding her own happiness in a world full of change.”—Youth Services Book Review

“As Norvia contends with forming friendships and gossipy classmates, she must keep her Ojibwe heritage & parents’ scandalous divorce secret. . . . For fans of Anne of Green Gables.”—The New York Public Library

Awards

Children’s Book Committee at Bank Street College Children’s Book of the Year SELECTION 2023

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top