Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Never Name the Dead by D. M. Rowell
Add Never Name the Dead to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Never Name the Dead

Best Seller
Never Name the Dead by D. M. Rowell
Paperback $22.99
Feb 20, 2024 | ISBN 9781639107209

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Feb 20, 2024 | ISBN 9781639107209

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 08, 2022 | ISBN 9781639101276

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 08, 2022 | ISBN 9781639101283

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details


Praise for Never Name the Dead:
Never Name the Dead weaves a tale of timely Native issues like fracking and poverty with a breathless mystery.”

“[A] debut wrapped in Kiowa history, stories, and culture . . . Recommended for readers of David Heska Wanbli Weiden’s Winter Counts.”
Library Journal

“Rowell’s Never Name the Dead is an impressive debut, charting a woman’s return from Silicon Valley to her roots, the Kiowa tribal land in Oklahoma, where she finds a divided tribe, land threatened by fracking, and her own grandfather missing and possibly framed for a crime she knows he didn’t commit. The novel then becomes a detective story with a deep sense of place and history. Rowell brings notes of poetry to the dark tale of corruption.”

“[Never Name the Dead] may join the ranks of Native American books along the veins of Tony Hillerman and Anne Hillerman’s Leaphorn/Chee mysteries.”
Midwest Book Review

“Greed and murder face off against the power of traditional Native American wisdom and rituals in a gripping tale set in Oklahoma on a reservation fighting to preserve the Kiowa culture and way of life. Mystical and magical, D. M. Rowell’s debut novel puts her in the ranks of Tony Hillerman, with a resolute female sleuth whose name is Mud but whose vision, purified with sacred smoke, is crystal clear.”
—Eric Redman, award-nominated author of Bones of Hilo

“Oil frackers and regalia looters meet their match in Mae “Mud” Sawpole, a Silicon Valley exec and former college softball slugger who returns to her Kiowa homeland in Oklahoma to settle the score.”
—Kris Lackey, author of the Maytubby-Bond series

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top