Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

Essex Dogs

Best Seller
Essex Dogs by Dan Jones
Audiobook Download
Feb 14, 2023 | ISBN 9780593670125 | 804 Minutes

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Dec 12, 2023 | ISBN 9780143137634

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 14, 2023 | ISBN 9780593511756

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Essex Dogs

Product Details

Praise

“On the whole a violent and bloody affair . . . [Reconceives] medieval military history as a swashbuckling Hollywood movie.”—The New York Times Book Review

“An impeccably researched ‘you are there’ novel with a real-time approach, Jones’ entertaining fiction debut moves episodically from encounter to life-threatening encounter . . . the book hums with black humor. . . An enjoyable romp through the darkest of ages.”—Kirkus Reviews *starred review*

“Historian Jones makes his fiction debut with a rousing story of the Hundred Years War, the first in a projected trilogy . . . Vivid characterizations and a strain of black humor add to the pointed drama . . . Brutal, graphic, and gory, the battle scenes viscerally hurl the reader into the heat of 14th-century combat. It’s good to know these Dogs will howl again.”—Publishers Weekly *starred review*

“A high-stakes, immersive war story. . . Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett.”—Library Journal *starred review*

“Historian Jones’s first foray into fiction is battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched. . . . Meticulously researched and vibrantly told. . . It’s a slaughterous, sweary, swaggering debut.”—The Daily Mail

“Swashbuckling, blood-spattered, awash with the sex, filth and violence of the Middle Ages, with a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve and historical accuracy, Dan Jones delivers a compelling novel that thrums with sword swinging energy.”—Simon Sebag Montefiore, author of Jerusalem

“Dan Jones is a brilliant storyteller. I’ve loved reading his history for years and now he’s proven to be just as adept at fiction. Few books manage to be as compelling on every level as Essex Dogs: it’s adventure, history, and heart.”—Dana Schwartz, author of Anatomy: A Love Story

“Visceral, thrilling, gripping, this is a wild ride into the hearts and minds of men fighting to the death—and each other. The battles that shaped Europe are seen from the point of view of the soldiers and the lives of ordinary people. Searing.”—Kate Williams, author of The Pleasures of Men and Becoming Queen Victoria
 
“A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell. Dan Jones‘s debut novel Essex Dogs is a full-throated charge onto the medieval battlefield, a rip-roaring adventure full of blood and guts, camaraderie and inventive curses, all based on a satisfying bedrock of historical research.”—Jane Johnson, author of The Tenth Gift

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top