Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

With a Dog AND a Cat, Every Day is Fun Series

Hidekichi Matsumoto
With a Dog AND a Cat, Every Day is Fun 1 by Hidekichi Matsumoto
With a Dog AND a Cat, Every Day is Fun 6 by Hidekichi Matsumoto
With a Dog AND a Cat, Every Day is Fun 7 by Hidekichi Matsumoto

With a Dog AND a Cat, Every Day is Fun Series : Titles in Order

Book 7
Are you a dog person? Or maybe a cat person? Or maybe both??
Based on author Hidekichi Matsumoto’s real life experience, she shows us what it’s like to live with both a dog and a cat!
“With a Dog and a Cat, Every Day is Fun is a story that will feel very familiar to animal lovers but especially to pet lovers. Matsumoto makes no bones of the fact that her animals are rarely perfect angels and that sometimes the stereotypes about cats and dogs are true.” – The OASG

Inu-kun and Neko-sama have been with Hidekichi since they were babies. They’re both twelve now, and while they’re no longer as energetic, they’re still as cute as ever (if not even more). Nothing can stop Inu-kun from having fun, and Neko-sama’s pride is always remarkable. What’s more, they never fail to bring their owner heaps of joy every day.

They’re getting old, but some things never change!
Book 6
Warm belly rubs!

They say it’s a sign of trust when your pets roll over to expose their bellies. Inu-kun has a firm belly with a prominent belly button, and Neko-sama (who’s always constipated) has a belly that rumbles when you massage it. Hidekichi realizes she’ll forever remember their displays of trust in the form of bellies.

This newest installment presents to you yet another collection of charming and comedy-filled pet stories!
Book 5
Furry Companions!
Having lived with their owner under the same roof for 10 years, both Inu-kun and Neko-sama have grown some human-like qualities. While Hidekichi goes to the toilet in the middle of the night, Inu-kun takes over the whole bed just to see how she’d react. And Neko-sama, who’s actually a scaredy-cat, deliberately naps beside a trash bag just to prove that he wasn’t scared out of his wits by it earlier.
Animals can’t talk, but there are so many ways they communicate and interact with each other.
It may have been 10 years already, but every day is different and it never gets old watching them eat, play, and sleep.
Book 4
Prrrecious Moments

And suddenly, both Inu-kun and Neko-sama turned 10 years old! The clock of a pet’s life ticks by quickly, and at some point they outpace their human’s age and travel on ahead, but…right now they’re at peak cuteness! Even cuter than when they were just a puppy and a kitten! Hidekichi shares more snapshots of life with the pets she dotes on, the pets who are so gosh darn cute even when they’ve grown up!
Book 3
The Lives of Pets

Hidekichi shares more glimpses into the daily lives of Neko-sama, Inu-kun and Tokage-chan with a series of sketches showing further details of the animal family members’ personalities. From something as simple as taking a new route home to going on a long journey to a distant shrine (?!) the fast-paced tales will keep you wanting to find out more!
Book 2
Fur-Filled Fun!
More adorable antics await in this next installment of slice-of-pet-life sketches. The cast of characters expands as we’re introduced to more animals in the Matsumoto household, and with so many furry (and fur-less?!) friends, there’s always something fun (or heart-warming or thought-provoking) happening. And what about Inu-kun’s sibling…?
Book 1
Welcome to the Menagerie!

With both a cat and a dog, there’s double the antics, double the fun (and double the kibble!) but while Inu and Neko coexist peacefully, they have their own distinct personalities, which play out in unexpected, charming ways during these short-form stories.

Whether you’re a dog-person or a cat-person, there’s plenty to love about these homegrown sketches of daily life shared with four-legged friends!

Find other titles in

Back to Top