Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

What’s The Big Deal About Series

Matt Faulkner and Ruby Shamir
 by

Book
$

What’s The Big Deal About Series : Titles in Order

Book 4
From Native American traditions to immigrant inventions, from diversity to democracy, from ice cream cones to apple pie, this picture book is filled with fun facts and historical trivia, celebrating the melting pot and mosaic that is America.

Did you know that the inventor of American cheese actually came from Canada? Or that founding father Benjamin Franklin was inspired to create a democratic society by a confederacy of Native American tribes who came together to stop their constant warring? How about that both “God Bless America” and “White Christmas” were written by Irving Berlin, a Russian Jew who fled to the U.S. because of persecution back home?

People have come to America from many different countries, in many different ways, for many different reasons. Americans have many different beliefs, different languages, and different traditions. But even with all of these differences, America comes together with the understanding that our country and government is “of the people, by the people, and for the people.” And there’s nothing more American than that.
Book 2
From the Constitution to civil rights, from women’s rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname “land of the free.”

It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we’re free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy!
 
Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?
 
This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free.  Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal!

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We’re Writing the Constitution – and a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.

Praise for What’s the Big Deal About Freedom:

“Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America.” –Booklist

“An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom.” –School Library Journal
Book 1
First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?
 
It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

Praise for What’s the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ “A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, ‘remember the ladies.'” –Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history….A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections.” –School Library Journal 

“Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history.” –Booklist 

Find other titles in

Back to Top