Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Christ the Lord Series

Anne Rice
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice
The Young Messiah (Movie tie-in) (originally published as Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt) by Anne Rice

Christ the Lord Series : Titles in Order

Book 1
With the Holy Land in turmoil, seven-year-old Jesus and his family leave Egypt for the dangerous road home to Jerusalem. As they travel, the boy ponders the mysteries surrounding his birth. Anne Rice’s dazzling, kaleidoscopic novel, based on the gospels and the most respected New Testament scholarship, summons up the voice, the presence, and the words of Jesus, allowing him to tell his own story as he struggles to grasp the holy purpose of his life.
Praise for The Young Messiah
“[An] intensely literal, historical, reverent treatment of a year in the life of Jesus, Son of God.”—Time
“Brilliant and tangible . . . Rice retains our rapt attention.”—Los Angeles Times
“Emotionally engaging and often moving; Ms. Rice succeeds in creating a Jesus who is recognizably human.”—National Catholic Reporter
“An inestimably valuable contribution to the discussion of Christian history as well as a tender look at the young Jesus.”—The Denver Post
Previously published as Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Book 1
National Bestseller

The second novel in Anne Rice’s hugely ambitious, moving, and masterful portrayal of the life of Christ, following Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt.
It’s a winter of no rain, endless dust, and talk of trouble in Judea. All who know and love Jesus find themselves waiting for some sign of the path he will eventually take. After his baptism, he is at last ready to confront his destiny. At the wedding at Cana, he takes water and transforms it into red wine.  Thus, he’s recognized as the anointed one and called by God the Father to begin a ministry that will transform an unsuspecting world.  

Find other titles in

Back to Top