Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Richard Mason

Photo of Richard Mason

Photo: © David Woolfall

About the Author

RICHARD MASON is the author of four novels: The Drowning People (winner of Italy’s Grinzane Cavour prize for Best First Novel), UsNatural Elements (longlisted for the IMPAC and Sunday Times Literary Award), and History of a Pleasure Seeker (“A gorgeous confection”–The New York Times), longlisted for the Sunday Times Literary Award and shortlisted for a Lambda Literary Award. History of a Pleasure Seeker is currently in development as a TV series, produced by Oscar winner Alison Owen and directed by BAFTA-winning Philippa Lowthorpe. Mason lives in London and Cape Town.
In 1999, with Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mason started the Kay Mason Foundation (, which helps disadvantaged South Africans access quality education.  He is the recipient of the Inyathelo Award for Philanthropy.

Sign me up for news about Richard Mason

Back to Top