Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Al Capone

  • Paperback $17.00

    Oct 31, 2017 | 416 Pages

  • Hardcover $30.00

    Oct 25, 2016 | 416 Pages

  • Ebook $14.99

    Oct 25, 2016 | 416 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“Bair discovers a rich trove of legends—one that reverberates with the romance of ethnic America … [she] is a wise and often iconoclastic guide through Capone mythology.”
New York Times Book Review

“A brilliant and engaging writer, able to construct compelling and nuanced life stories in gripping prose … [Bair’s] access to Capone’s descendants, and their family stories, makes compelling reading, and even fills in a few blank places in narratives of his evasions of the police and rival gangsters that Capone aficionados know well.”
Chicago Tribune

Al Capone provides tremendous insight into the man who, decades after his death, may be the best-known Chicagoan of all time.”
St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“Deirdre Bair offers a new history of Capone, and separates fact from fiction in the process … Bair’s Capone is powerfully human, a daunting task given his infamous pop culture stature.”
Smithsonian

“A definitive biography of ‘Public Enemy #1’ … Bair has written perhaps the last word on Capone. Highly recommended.”
Library Journal

“Deirdre Bair’s enticing new gangster biography knocks it out of the park. In the hands of a master life-storyteller, Al Capone’s brief, explosive career seems as all-American as apple pie and sawed-off shotguns. Fans of The Godfather, The Sopranos, or Boardwalk Empire are sure to find the book addictive.”
—Marion Meade, author of Bobbed Hair and Bathtub Gin: Writers Running Wild in the Twenties
 
“Deirdre Bair’s command of her subject is encyclopedic … Never before have we had such a complete and engrossing picture of Capone’s life and times.”
—Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family and screenwriter of Goodfellas and Casino
 


Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top