Best Seller
All That's Missing by
Hardcover $16.99

Candlewick | Oct 08, 2013 | 368 Pages | 5-1/2 x 8-1/4 | Middle Grade (8-12) | ISBN 9780763661021

  • Hardcover$16.99

    Candlewick | Oct 08, 2013 | 368 Pages | 5-1/2 x 8-1/4 | Middle Grade (8-12) | ISBN 9780763661021

Praise

It’s rare to find a quiet, reflective middle-grade novel with a boy as the main character, and rarer still to find one this satisfying. … With touches of magical realism, and a crime caper thrown in for good measure, this gentle book explores how every family has some question nobody wants to answer.
—Cleveland Plain Dealer

Sullivan’s debut novel beautifully balances the big issues in Arlo’s life with his smaller, more immediate concerns: his dog, an adventurous friend, and the magic of a wooden eagle carved by his father. The characters’ race is often left ambiguous, allowing readers to envision for themselves. Filled with heart, this will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie or Eva Ibbotson’s One Dog and His Boy.
—Booklist

There’s no pretension in this simple but deep story… A playful air of mystery hangs over the second half of the novel, and there are even tinges of a good ghost story… Art history buffs will especially appreciate the fact that the final reveal involves a long-lost painting, but the carefully detailed development of a boy learning how to deal with being caught in-between will appeal to a wide range of readers.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

Some suspense, much heartache, a few tears, and smiles all tie together nicely in the end to create an outstanding debut novel.
—VOYA

Related Articles

First to Read
Back to Top