Major

Ebook $11.99

Crown | Feb 26, 2008 | ISBN 9780307409768

  • Paperback$14.00

    Broadway Books | Jan 27, 2009 | 320 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307236593

  • Ebook$11.99

    Crown | Feb 26, 2008 | ISBN 9780307409768

Praise

"Balf revels in the bicycle’s bone-shaking evolution and the top-gun fraternity of daredevils who literally risked life and limb to race."
Entertainment Weekly

"With Major, Todd Balf has given us an astonishing book about race and racing in Gilded Age America. This is literary sports writing at its finest. In the tradition of David Halberstam and Frank DeFord, Balf painst intimate portraits of young athletes at the top of their game- and takes us on an epic ride to a nearly forgotten world of sport."
–Hampton Sides, author of Blood and Thunder and Ghost Soldiers

"If a literary magician could somehow combine the longshot thrill of Seabiscuit, the groundbreaking nobility of Jackie Robinson, and the dramatic flair of Babe Ruth, the result would be something close to this book. Major Taylor is perhaps the greatest American underdog story ever told; I couldn’t put it down."
— Daniel Coyle, author of Lance Armstrong’s War and Hardball

"
In Major, Todd Balf has given us the true story of a fascinating, vanished sports world, and one of America’s first, great black champions. It reads as fast and as beautifully as its heroes spin."
– Kevin Baker, author of Paradise Alley and Dreamland


From the Hardcover edition.

Also by Todd Balf

Related Articles

Beaks & Geeks
Back to Top