Life of Zarf Series

Rob Harrell
Middle school is anything but a fairy tale when you’re a troll. Luckily, Zarf and his two best friends know how to make the most of life at the bottom of the school hierarchy. Fractured fairy tales meet the modern world in this hilarious illustrated series from award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell.
Life of Zarf: Troll Overboard by Rob Harrell
Latest in the Series

Life of Zarf: Troll Overboard

Book 3
Hardcover $15.99

Life of Zarf Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
Land of Stories meets Dork Diaries in the third book of the hilarious fractured fairy tale series about an unpopular troll and his underdog pals

As a troll, Zarf is already at the bottom of the food chain when it comes to popularity at Cotswin Middle School. So when his Gramps shows up at career day, Zarf is sure his cool factor will hit an all-time low. What he doesn’t expect is for the super-obnoxious Prince Roquefort to take an interest in Gramps’s nautical know-how. Zarf is sure the prince is up to something . . . but why would he want Gramps to take him on a boat ride perilously close to the Berundi Rectangle? And why does he keep mumbling about magic beans?

Award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell has cooked up another laugh-out-loud funny fairy-tale romp. Packed with witty one-liners and clever twists on fairy-tale tropes, this series is pure magic for fans of The Decedents.
Book 2
Fractured fairy tales meet modern day middle school in book two of this hilarious series that’s perfect for fans of Shrek, Dork Diaries, and Wimpy Kid.

Even after rescuing the king, Zarf is scum on the bottom rung of the middle school social ladder. After all, he is still a troll. But at least he still has his two best friends, Kevin and Chester . . . until Kevin disappears, that is. It seems a band of wolves are seeking revenge for the constant disgrace they’ve suffered over the years, and Little Red Ridinghood’s kid might be next on their list. Now it’s up to Zarf to crank out a solution from that troll brain of his, and save his best friend before it’s too late. 

Award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell has middle-grade humor mastered. This second book in his Life of Zarf series is packed with even more witty one-liners and clever twists on classic folk and fairytales. It’s perfect for fans of Chris Colfer’s Land of Stories series.

Praise for Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels:

“Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor.” —Publishers Weekly

“A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit.” —Booklist
Book 1
“A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit.” –Booklist

Shrek meets Dork Diaries in this comic novel of a troll trying to figure out how to be more popular. 

It’s not easy being Zarf. As a troll, he’s stuck at the bottom of the middle school hierarchy, way below the prince and knights (populars), ogres and giants (jocks), and even the lowly minstrels (band geeks). Plus, trolls aren’t exactly known for their brain power or cool demeanor. But it gets worse. When the king disappears and Zarf’s archenemy, the prince, ascends the throne, he makes Zarf’s life even more miserable. And so it is that Zarf and his two sidekicks (a neurotic, mutton-obsessed pig and the not-funny son of the court jester) set out to find the missing king as well as their way to middle school heroism. (Okay, the heroism part might be wishful thinking.)

The first book in this brilliant new illustrated series from comics creator Rob Harrell is perfect for fans of fractured fairytales and the Land of Stories series.

Find other titles in

Back to Top