Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Rachel Caine

Photo of Rachel Caine

Photo: © Robert W. Hart

About the Author

Rachel Caine is the New York TimesUSA Today, and international bestselling author of more than 40 novels, including the Great Library series, Prince of Shadows, the Weather Warden series, the Outcast Season series, the Revivalist series, and the Morganville Vampires series.

Sign me up for news about Rachel Caine


Author Rachel Caine on the books that influenced her | authorcuts

Author Essay

Dear Reader,

“Outcast Season” is a four-book series that follows a specific storyline—the tale of Cassiel, one of the (self-described) “True Djinn,” (genies), who refuses an order from the highest levels of their society. This has an unexpected result for her: exile. She’s thrown out of the aetheric (the higher levels of existence where the Djinn mainly live), and into mortal form—without any access to the power of the living Earth, which is what sustains the Djinn as much as air, food and water sustain humans.

Forced by circumstances to cooperate with the mortal Wardens (the humans who control the elements of the Earth) to earn access to that life-sustaining power, Cassiel is both prisoner, and powerful ally…with a hell of an attitude. As she gets more and more enmeshed in human affairs, she discovers emotions in herself that she never suspected—and dangers she’s never imagined.

The Djinn have been a delight for me to write in the Weather Warden series, a combination of angels and devils (and capable of being both). I wanted to explore the history of the Djinn, their motivations, and what it must be like for a being such as Cassiel to learn to live among humans, like it or not (mostly, of course, not). The question of what exactly Cassiel refused to do is a primary driver of the story, as well as the development of her character through the four-book series.

I hope you enjoy following Cassiel’s story as much as I’m enjoying writing it. The first book, Undone, premieres on February 3, 2009.

— Rachel Caine

Connect with Rachel Caine

Back to Top