Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Last Enemy by Grace Brophy

The Last Enemy

Best Seller
The Last Enemy by Grace Brophy
Paperback $16.95
May 01, 2008 | ISBN 9781569474969

Also available from:

  • May 01, 2008 | ISBN 9781569474969

    Also available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Last Enemy

“[Brophy shows] real compassion for a middle-aged American woman who horrifies her late mother’s Italian relations by moving into their mansion in Assisi . . . The story flourishes in its cloistered setting.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Fans of Donna Leon or Håkan Nesser will be ecstatic to find a kindred spirit in Grace Brophy.”
BookPage, Mystery of the Month

“Evocative . . . Cenni is well set up to return, and traditional mystery readers should welcome his continued investigations.”
The Baltimore Sun

The Last Enemy, Grace Brophy’s mystery in an Umbrian setting like no other, serves up more delights than the local pasticceria. The murder of Italian-American Rita Minelli during Holy Week in Assisi, with its warren of winding alleys, hidden squares and steep cobbled stairways, poses questions for Commissario Alessandro Cenni, not the least, those concerning a 17th-century manuscript, a Croatian immigrant, and a reclusive Contessa. With pressure from Rome, the Commissario’s own job is on the line. Brophy’s wry laser-like insight probes the layers of Italian aristocracy, the police system and the clergy with a sure, deft touch.”
—Cara Black, New York Times

Get the latest updates from Grace Brophy
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top