Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

How to Write a Novel

How to Write a Novel by Melanie Sumner
Paperback
Aug 04, 2015 | 304 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $14.95

    Aug 04, 2015 | 304 Pages

  • Ebook $7.99

    Aug 04, 2015 | 304 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“In the vein of Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project, Sumner’s quirky story about an unconventional family is charming and precocious, like Aris herself.” —Library Journal

“[A] tour de force. . . . Sumner brings a knowing, tongue-in-cheek sparkle to discussions of writing workshop chestnuts . . . never losing sight of the humanity of her characters or the unpredictable nature of reality.” —Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“I have long been an admirer of Melanie Sumner’s fiction—the fierce wit and sharp intelligence and trained eye when locating the pulse of compassion—and How To Write A Novel, her brilliant new novel, offers all this and more.  I love the narrator, Aris Thibodeau, twelve-and-a-half going on eternal, and I love the references to writing—the parallels to real life that lead to those moving moments that cannot be edited.  A beautiful and accomplished novel by an extraordinarily gifted talent.” Jill McCorkle, author of Life After Life       

“If someone were going to make a novel out of your no doubt complicated life, you’d definitely want your narrator to be Aristotle Thibodeau, the precociously wise (though never annoyingly so) tell-it-all behind Melanie Sumner’s hilarious and warm-hearted novel.” —Will Blythe, editor of Why I Write and author of To Hate Like This Is To Be Happy Forever

“Sweet, clever, and fun.” —Kirkus Reviews

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top