Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Lottery Boy

Best Seller
Lottery Boy by Michael Byrne
Hardcover $16.99
Mar 08, 2016 | ISBN 9780763679965

Also available from:

  • Mar 08, 2016 | ISBN 9780763679965 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Occasional kindnesses and acts of genuine compassion soften the impact of the neglect, cruelty, and betrayal Bully negotiates in this gut-wrenching, gripping debut.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

There’s no denying that Byrne can write hard-core action that keeps the pages turning…Boy and dog make a redoubtable, memorable team.
—Kirkus Reviews

An intriguing tale of survival and perseverance that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet and Jerry Spinelli’s Maniac Magee…A stirring, adrenaline-laced tale of endurance that will resonate with young bibliophiles.
—School Library Journal

This first novel is grim and brutal, yet still offers a sliver of hope for Bully and his future.
—Booklist Online

This contemporary fiction is a thriller to the end with strong characterization and nail-biting scenes leading up to Bully’s final achievement: finding a family to love him. English teacher Michael Byrne’s debut title will appeal to readers who love action-packed stories and may particularly appeal to reluctant readers.
—School Library Connection

The urgency of Bully’s plight (underscored by a frequently appearing countdown of the remaining time before the ticket expires) and the suspenseful pursuit by greedy evildoers make this a grip- ping page-turner. Byrne doesn’t shy away from credibly portraying the multitude of hardships faced by a kid on the streets, and lowlife Janks is truly vicious (he not only kidnaps Bully but puts the injured Jack into a dogfight)…Fans of Cottrell Boyce’s Millions (BCCB 7/04) may find similar, if grittier, appeal in this nail-biter.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Be the first to know!
More from Michael Byrne and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Michael Byrne and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top