Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Bleeding Heart

Best Seller
Bleeding Heart by Liza Gyllenhaal
Ebook
Nov 04, 2014 | ISBN 9780698137554

Available from:

  • Nov 04, 2014 | ISBN 9780698137554

    Available from:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Bleeding Heart

“The multilayered plot and deceptive characters makes this a strong crossover chick lit/mystery novel. Great for book club discussion groups.” —Library Journal

“’Gardening thriller’ may seem an unlikely genre, but Gyllenhaal pulls it off. The novel deftly balances comforting descriptions of gardens and small-town life with the suspenseful unraveling of a mystery.  A compelling story of one woman’s attempt to find herself, build her business and solve a mystery.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Gyllenhaal nicely weaves environmental politics, financial shenanigans, and murder into Alice’s compelling story. Could get heated for book groups.”—Booklist


“A compelling, adroitly crafted novel of suspense about a woman’s second chance at happiness. Her lucid prose illuminates everyday life while shining a light on the darkest secrets and desires. The taut and evocative prose is psychologically astute and powerful.  Liza Gyllenhaal is one of our finest novelists of the heart writing today.”—Carol Goodman, author of The Lake of Dead Languages and the Blythewood novels

“In this tautly paced mystery set in the bucolic Berkshires, Liza Gyllenhaal delivers a tale of betrayal, greed, and murder with more twists than the paths through the gardens she describes so poetically along the way. Gyllenhaal also handily highlights a contemporary social issue sure to spark debates in every corner, as well as creating female characters with heart and ambition who have the courage to get their hands dirty, live by their convictions, and reinvent themselves. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian, this book’s for you!”—Holly Robinson, author of The Wishing Hill and Beach Plum Island

“Full of intrigue and heart, Liza Gyllenhaal’s new novel is sure to leave you feeling as if you’ve taken a stroll through your favorite flower garden and found that strength was in full bloom.”—Jennifer Scott, author of The Sister Season

Praise for the novels of Liza Gyllenhaal

“Gyllenhaal has written a lyrical, psychologically astute, heart-stoppingly suspenseful novel about what it means to be part of a family.”—Ellen Feldman, author of Next to Love

“Gyllenhaal’s novel is a snapshot of a family and a community in crisis. It is a thought-provoking, all-too-familiar story of young people attempting to navigate the often treacherous road to adulthood and adults attempting to parent on an equally dangerous path.”—Booklist

“Unexpected, jarring and beautiful…Gyllenhaal demonstrates a deft hand at lyrical writing that subtly balances metaphors, philosophical realizations, and the realistic complexity of emotions.”—Berkshire Eagle

“This is a book to savor.”—Publishers Weekly

“Gripping and deeply perceptive…Small-town life and work are rendered in vivid detail, as are the memorable characters who come alive in the hands of a gifted new writer.”—Ben Sherwood, author of Charlie St. Cloud

 

Be the first to know!
More from Liza Gyllenhaal and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Liza Gyllenhaal and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top