Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Castle Hangnail by Ursula Vernon
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Castle Hangnail

Best Seller
Castle Hangnail by Ursula Vernon
Ebook
Apr 21, 2015 | ISBN 9780698154148

Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Apr 21, 2015 | ISBN 9780698154148 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

* “An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what’s not to love?” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review


“A read with substance and resonance…An appealing fantasy for upper middle grade readers.” —School Library Journal

“In the tradition of Eva Ibbotson…a wacky, heartwarming tale of magic, friendship, and home.” —Booklist 

“Vernon…deftly weaves silly, suspenseful, and only slightly scary elements throughout this engaging coming-of-age story, which will easily appeal to fans of spells and sorcery.” —Publishers Weekly

“Smart and droll, it’s the fantasy you’ve always wanted to hand to the 10-year-old Goth girl in your life (along with, let’s face it, everybody else you know). A true crowd pleaser.” —Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production

“A rather cheerfully goth book…that has a great deal of respect for children and what they’re capable of.” —i09

“Fans of Ibbotson and Vande Velde will be right at home with this novel, and all readers will likely hope that Molly returns for more adventures.” —BCCB

“This illustrated novel is lighthearted and funny, and provides an interesting array of characters.” —SLC

Awards and Honors for Ursula Vernon:

Winner of the Hugo Award for her adult online comic Digger

Dragonbreath:
An IRA/CBC Chidren’s Choice
“Great stuff for reluctant and rapacious readers alike.”—BCCB
Dragonbreath: Attack of the Ninja Frogs: NYPL Children’s Books 2010: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
“Delightful.”—School Library Journal
Dragonbreath: Curse of the Were-Weiner: An Autumn 2010 Kids’ Indie Next List Pick, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
* “[An] impossibly droll escapade.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Dragonbreath: Lair of the Bat Monster: A Spring 2011 Indie Next List Pick

 

 

Ursula Vernon

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Ursula Vernon
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top