Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Park Avenue Summer

Best Seller
Park Avenue Summer by Renée Rosen
Paperback
Apr 30, 2019 | ISBN 9781101991145
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Apr 30, 2019 | ISBN 9781101991145

  • Ebook $9.99

    Apr 30, 2019 | ISBN 9781101991152

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Park Avenue Summer

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Park Avenue Summer

“A delightful and empowering read.”—PopSugar

“Renée Rosen is my go-to for whip-smart heroines who love their work. Park Avenue Summer is a delightful summer cocktail of a read!”—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

“Filled with wit, heart, and verve, Rosen’s novel dazzles and empowers. Simply wonderful!”—Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana

“Part historical fiction, part coming-of-age story, this is a novel for our keeper shelves to read and re-read when we begin to doubt that there is still time to become the best version of ourselves.  Lovely prose, a unique storyline, and a heroine who will stay with you for a long time make this a book I highly recommend.”—Karen White, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A breezy, delightful novel that celebrates female friendship and ambition. With Park Avenue Summer, Renée Rosen brings legendary magazine editrix Helen Gurley Brown back to life and captures a beloved bygone era with acuity, wisdom, and heart.”—Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Forever Summer and The Husband Hour

“Once again Renée Rosen works her magic, transporting us to the offices of Helen Gurley Brown’s Cosmopolitan in 1960s New York, and the result is a delight…Rosen’s command of historical detail is masterful; so, too, is her ability to create fictional characters, among them her heroine Alice, who are as fully realized and compelling as the beguiling Brown herself.”—Jennifer Robson, internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France

“Rosen delivers a cast of complex and ambitious female protagonists to truly root for. The Devil Wears Prada meets Mad Men, Park Avenue Summer is pure joy from cover to cover. I loved it.”—Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Came Home

“Pussycats, Renée Rosen brings Helen Gurley Brown to life with all her cunning, vision, and shocking frugality. Park Avenue Summer is both a breezy Girl-Takes-Manhattan fairy tale, and a crackling account of how a brazen editor—against her bosses’ better judgment—invented iconic Cosmopolitan Magazine. This novel perfectly captures the zeitgeist of 1965.”—Sally Koslow, author of Another Side of Paradise and bestselling author of The Late, Lamented Molly Marx

“Renee Rosen combines meticulous research with a true affection for her characters to bring this heady time movingly to life.”—Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion 

“This is a satisfying read about one young woman’s attempt to take advantage of the doors opening for women in 1960s America, and Alice is a likable complex heroine…Recommended for fans of Fiona Davis and Melanie Benjamin.”—Library Journal

“Where the book sparkles brightest is in Rosen’s complete success in creating a soapy, small-town-girl-in-the-big-city story that includes sophisticated bad boys, designer clothes, and lots of smoking and day drinking. An ode to idealized 1960s New York, this champagne bubble of a novel takes the Mad Menapproach to depicting single, twentysomething women.”—Booklist

Park Avenue Summer is a sweet, romantic story about making it in that big city, having your dreams come true, while finding friends, recapturing family, and finding forever love. Be still my heart. I loved it and found it hard to put down until the ending. It is a delicious delight that is simply wonderful! Thank you, Ms. Rosen.”—Fresh Fiction 

Park Avenue Summer is a frothy and fun cocktail of fact and fiction, perfect for anyone who has ever been a “Cosmo Girl.”’—Augusta Chronicle
 
“Park Avenue Summer is a fascinating behind-the-scenes glimpse into the world of the iconic Cosmopolitan magazine and its equally iconic editor, Helen Gurley Brown…This novel features strong heroines and intertwines a love story and a mystery, and most of all, heart. The storyline is fast-paced and utterly absorbing: a delight from start to finish.”—Historical Novel Reviews 

“Instantly absorbing, thoroughly researched and a fun, breezy read. It’s like revisiting ‘Mad Men,’ but from Peggy and Joan’s points of view.”—BookReporter

Back to Top