Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The Way of Jesus by Jay Parini

The Way of Jesus

Best Seller
The Way of Jesus by Jay Parini
Apr 09, 2019 | ISBN 9780807023938
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $17.00

    Apr 09, 2019 | ISBN 9780807023938

  • Hardcover $24.95

    Mar 27, 2018 | ISBN 9780807047248

  • Ebook $13.99

    Mar 27, 2018 | ISBN 9780807047255

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details


“Accessible and engaging, Jay Parini’s The Way of Jesus is a cross between a memoir and a travel diary, except the landscape he is exploring is his own soul. The compelling spiritual narrative that results is informed by insight, personal reflection, and wide reading. In his own words, it is all about resurrection—now.”
—The Right Reverend Robert Atwell, Bishop of Exeter

“For two millennia, the figure of Jesus has haunted the imagination of spiritual seekers around the world, including many great writers, philosophers, and theologians. It might seem there could be nothing fresh to say about him. Yet in each generation, thoughtful observers find new meaning in his life and teachings, as Jay Parini does in this compelling account. A poet as well as a scholar, Parini delves into the history of the faith he espouses and into the mystery at the core of existence. ‘Jesus was first and foremost a teacher,’ he tells us. The same could be said of the man who wrote this lucid, candid, eloquent book.”
—Scott Russell Sanders, author of Earth Works: Selected Essays

“Jay Parini’s The Way of Jesus is at once learned and down to earth; rueful at one moment and joyous at the next. Above all, this is the author’s own story—dispatches from an authentic, ongoing quest for a more vital and spirit-filled life. Its most memorable elements, for me, are its eloquent meditations on the ecclesiastical year and its culmination in an arresting reading of Eliot’s Four Quartets.”
—John Elder, author of Reading the Mountains of Home

Table Of Contents


ONE: Journeying by Faith

TWO: The Christian Mind

THREE: The Church Year

FOUR: How to Be a Christian



Back to Top