Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Revolution Sunday

Revolution Sunday by Wendy Guerra
Paperback
Dec 04, 2018 | 208 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $16.99

    Dec 04, 2018 | 208 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    Dec 04, 2018 | 208 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“Radical… Revolution Sunday is about creating art under surveillance, and about our homelands’ inescapable pull… Guerra is a fearless writer, and she’s lucky to have a fearless translator [in Achy Obejas]. Together, they make Revolution Sunday more vivid than life.”—Lily Meyer, NPR

“More than in its plot—a Cold War conspiracy of sorts—the movement of ‘Revolution Sunday’ is in the coming and going from the island…Obejas succeeds in capturing the sense of doom, the weather of half-truths and paranoia, floating at the edges of Cleo’s Cuba.”—Jaime Lalinde, THE NEW YORK TIMES

“[A] Kafkaesque art thriller… Havana’s slow political thaw brings new texture and urgency to the genre of political paranoia.”—NYMAG.COM / VULTURE

“Sensual, atmospheric”Jane Ciabattari, BBC.com

“Guerra brings in her knowledge of media and storytelling, creating a rich backdrop before which this narrative unfolds.”—VOL. 1 BROOKLYN

“Fascinating…it’s eye-opening in more ways than one.”—ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

“Unclassifiable…beautiful”—CRIME READS / LIT HUB

“Not to be missed”—BUSTLE

“Darkly funny… about art, sex, writing, government surveillance and identity…all very relevant to a lot of us these days.”—BOOK RIOT

Revolution Sunday is, by turns, a psychological mystery; an examination of the mind-bending strangeness of surveillance culture; a meditation on the varieties of exile; and an ode to the saving power of art, literature in particular. Guerra writes with this wonderful, sharp lyric abandon—and is frequently very, very funny.”—BOMB MAGAZINE

“Genre-defying… Guerra fuses poetry and prose to track the hallucinatory lives of both her protagonist and her country… Achy Obejas’s translation deftly reproduces the searing and ethereal quality of Guerra’s voice, one that is ultimately in pursuit of liberation from the confines of politics and fear….Guerra writes a world where there is no escape from the potency of her poetics.”—ASYMPTOTE JOURNAL

“Guerra’s Revolution Sunday is a story about the nature of art in the face of censorship and surveillance, and shows how the survival of art mirrors the survival of the soul.” —ARKANSAS INTERNATIONAL

“With lyrical prose and on-target character development, Guerra tells Cleo’s story with a razor-like touch. …packed with pathos and humanity.”—BOOKREPORTER.COM

“Arresting, an explosive portrait of loneliness and isolation. Thick with the atmosphere of… Havana on the cusp of the Cuban thaw, the novel reads like the world’s most poetic anxiety dream, vibrant and stifling. Demanding and unforgettable.” —*starred* KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Lyrical and potent… Guerra’s captivating tale is an intriguing depiction of art amid corruption, and a reminder of the power in a singular voice.” —PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“[A] lyrical and breathless novel… Guerra’s novel is a riveting look into the lives of artists attempting free expression in censored regimes.”BOOKLIST  

Revolution Sunday brilliantly portrays the strangeness and dislocation of surveillance and exile… I love the sharpness of the voice, the gorgeous prose, and the surreal humor.” —Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel

“Wendy Guerra does a spectacular job of laying out the troubles and paranoias of living in Cuba as a radical artist.” —Sara Balabanlilar, BRAZOS BOOKSTORE

“Fans of Rachel Cusk, Jennifer Egan, and Ottessa Moshfegh will find Guerra a welcome addition to their bookshelves. Her work offers a glimpse into modern Havana in an age of rapid sociopolitical change.”—THE PACIFIC STANDARD

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top