Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Poison Thread

Best Seller
The Poison Thread by Laura Purcell
Paperback
Jun 18, 2019 | 368 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Jun 18, 2019 | 368 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Jun 18, 2019 | 368 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“[A] well-wrought chiller.”—Wall Street Journal

“Suspenseful… This smart and sophisticated historical thriller will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters’s Fingersmith and Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace.”—Publishers Weekly 

“A dark, gothic story… Purcell alternates character narratives to question motives, reality, and truth on a ‘bumpy’ ride full of violence and death.”—Booklist

“A fascinating mystery that’s rich in disquieting detail and at­mosphere.”BookPage

“A chilling and engrossing read.”Kirkus 

“A potent, powerful novel: seductive, spellbinding, and – in every sense of the word – haunting. As atmospheric as Sarah Waters, as psychologically astute as Tana French.”—A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“[The Poison Thread is] a compelling slice of early Victorian gothic… Vivid and well researched, this book is an evocative portrait of a society that punishes women who dare to contravene social norms… a splendid mystery with suitably melodramatic flourishes.”The Guardian

“With the skill of a born story teller Laura Purcell has crafted a tale as intricate and flawless as Ruth’s stitches. By turns horrifying and humorous, The Poison Thread is a darkly compelling, unsettling and fascinating book… the very best kind of gothic fiction. Reminiscent of Sarah Waters and Margaret Atwood, but uniquely and unmistakably Laura Purcell.”—ES Thomson, author of the Jem Flockhart Mysteries

“This gothic chiller casts an addictive spell.”Sunday Mirror

“Intricate, atmospheric and chilling – with a wonderfully dark premise at its heart.”Woman & Home

“Phantasmic thrills… A true page-turner.”Times Literary Supplement


Praise for The Silent Companions

“[An] extraordinary, memorable and truly haunting book.”—Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“If The Silent Companions lands on your night table, don’t plan on leaving your bed anytime soon. Immersive, meticulous, and reminiscent of the masters of gothic fiction—not only a compulsively readable ghost story, but a skillful, loving ode to the entire genre.”—Lyndsay Faye, bestselling author of Jane Steele

“Purcell crafts a virtually flawless work of Gothic fiction with this deeply atmospheric, foreboding story. . . . reminiscent of the work of all the greats, particularly Shirley Jackson and Daphne du Maurier, but Purcell has a style all her own. A must for all lovers of Gothic literature.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“This perfect fireside read combines all the best characteristics of the gothic genre.”—Booklist

“Laura Purcell weaves a classic tale of gothic horror. . . . Purcell has all the finest ingredients of the gothic tradition. . . . Reminiscent of Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black and even du Maurier’s RebeccaThe Silent Companions will chill readers who fall under its spell.”Shelf Awareness

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top