Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

Best Seller
The Love Story of Missy Carmichael by Beth Morrey
Hardcover $26.00
Apr 07, 2020 | ISBN 9780525542445

Also available from:

See All Formats (4) +
  • Mar 09, 2021 | ISBN 9780525542452

    Also available from:

  • Apr 07, 2020 | ISBN 9780593171790

    Also available from:

  • Apr 07, 2020 | ISBN 9780525542445

    Also available from:

  • Apr 07, 2020 | ISBN 9780525542469

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

Product Details

Praise

Winner of the Bronze Award for the NY Radio Awards
One of the Observer’s 10 Best Debut Novelists of 2020
One of Read It Forward’s Most Anticipated Books of 2020
One of Bustle’s Most Anticipated Books of April 2020
One of Christian Science Monitor’s Best Books of April 2020
 
“The success of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine has blazed a trail for books about offbeat characters, and this is one of the best I’ve read…A joyful read about the power of people in saving each other.”Good Housekeeping
 
“A charming story about the way that connecting with others can heal a broken spirit…Fans of Fredrik Backman and Rachel Joyce will enjoy this uplifting (but never saccharine) “coming of old” story.” Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Morrey has deftly created a series of love stories, interwoven together and told in snippets through time…Pain, grief, and hurt are all part of life in this moving portrayal of the many forms love can take.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“Heartwarming, poignant and raw, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is the perfect book for anyone ready for a change, for hope, or for a solid love story rooted in something more.” —BookReporter.com
 
“A generous-hearted story showing the transformative power of friendship and community, whatever our time of life. Morrey writes about loneliness and old age with a wonderful lightness of touch…A fabulously enjoyable book!” —Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus
 
“Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others—be it people or dogs. I truly enjoyed reading this story of a big-hearted but embittered woman who turns her life around, two steps forward and one step back, which is to say realistically. . . . An elegant reminder that the rest of us are capable of doing the same thing. It is not only pleasurable but inspiring reading.” —Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles
 
“The particular success of this book lies in its shrewdly unsentimental celebration of kindness, community and mutually-supportive women. …[It’s] is a breath of fresh air and already I want to read the next one!” —Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World

Be the first to know!
More from Beth Morrey and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Beth Morrey and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top