Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Stalking Ground by Margaret Mizushima

Stalking Ground

Best Seller
Stalking Ground by Margaret Mizushima
Hardcover
Sep 13, 2016 | ISBN 9781629538334
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $15.99

    Sep 13, 2016 | ISBN 9781629538341

  • Hardcover $25.99

    Sep 13, 2016 | ISBN 9781629538334

  • Ebook $1.99

    Sep 13, 2016 | ISBN 9781629538358

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Stalking Ground:
“Realistic characters and believable plot twists distinguish Mizushima’s brisk sequel to 2015’s Killing Trail…Robo proves his mettle as a well-trained detective and a brave hero in this incisive look at small-town police work.”
Publishers Weekly

“The second adventure in Mizushima’s fine series…[is] a taut page-turner on multiple levels. A perfect read-alike for Robert Crais’ series starring LAPD officer Scott James and his K-9 partner, Maggie.”
Booklist

“Mizushima’s sophomore outing proves that her acclaimed series debut, Killing Trail, was no fluke…dog loves will want to read this thriller.”
Library Journal

“The story is one that will keep you reading…[I] would recommend it as a very good mystery.”
Night Owl Reviews, 4 1/2 star review, Top Pick

“The family complications of Adrienne Howard, Mattie, and Cole are as different as they could be, yet the novel succeeds in threading together the relationships into one cohesive theme…Mattie and Robo’s teamwork ensure a satisfying read, while Robo’s intimidating work ethic delivers a suspenseful and thrilling conclusion.”
King’s River Life

“Mizushima’s tale is woven well with believable characters and a compelling plotline.”
Noir Journal

“In her second absorbing K-9 mystery, Margaret Mizushima delivers tight storytelling and gripping suspense in a fully realized rural Colorado world populated by emotionally burdened sheriff’s detective Mattie Cobb and her indomitable working canine, Robo.”
—Scott Graham, National Outdoor Book Award-winning author of Yellowstone Standoff

Praise for Killing Trail:
Nominated for RT Book Review’s Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best First Mystery

“Debut author Mizushima’s classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K-9s. The appealing Robo knows what he’s doing, he just needs to train Mattie to trust him. Sue Henry fans will love.”
Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

“The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover…Mizushima’s debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals. The shocking conclusion will stay with readers while they wait for the next story in the series. Pair this with Robert Crais’ Suspect (2013)”
Booklist starred review

“Winning heroine…strong debut…a realistic view of how a K-9 team works, treating Robo as an important character, but never stooping to anthropomorphism. And it’s impossible not to fall in love with Robo.”
Publishers Weekly starred review

“Mizushima does an excellent job of developing [Mattie and Robo] as characters, allowing readers to feel a personal connection to them both. Overall a great debut for an up-and-coming mystery writer.”
RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

“A terrific debut with a refreshing detective duo—Deputy Mattie Lu Cobb and Robo, her K-9 partner! Margaret Mizushima has crafted a compelling and savvy mystery that explores the big secrets in a small western town. I was cheering on Mattie and Robo every step of the way.”
—Margaret Coel, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky

Back to Top