Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Plot and the Pendulum by Jenn McKinlay
Paperback $17.00
Jan 02, 2024 | ISBN 9780593101810

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 02, 2024 | ISBN 9780593101810

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 11, 2022 | ISBN 9780593101803

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 11, 2022 | ISBN 9780593101827

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

“A sparkling setting, lovely characters, books, knitting, and chowder! What more could any reader ask?”
Lorna Barrett, New York Times bestselling author

“With a cold case, a sinister mansion, a book collection, a skeleton, and Edgar Allan Poe, this is a treat for fans of McKinlay’s Library Lover’s series, Halloween-themed mysteries, and well-written cozies.”
Library Journal (starred review)

“A sympathetic cast, the evocative coastal setting, and the lovingly portrayed library frame—combined with some unexplained (perhaps ghostly) happenings in a crumbling mansion—add up to a satisfying cozy.” 
Booklist

“A bibliocentric mystery with a spooky touch that keeps you guessing.”
Kirkus

Praise for the New York Times bestselling Library Lover’s Mysteries

“Terrific…intelligent, lively, and fun.”
Miranda James, New York Times bestselling author
 
“Sure to charm cozy readers everywhere.”
Ellery Adams, New York Times bestselling author
 
“[A] fast-moving, tricky tale that kept me guessing at every turn…[A] must read!”
Kate Carlisle, New York Times bestselling author
 
“What a great read!…McKinlay has been a librarian, and her snappy story line, fun characters, and young library director with backbone make for a winning formula.”
Library Journal

“Plenty of well-defined characters add charm and bite to a thorny mystery.”
Kirkus

“Fans of this series will love the scenes leading up to the wedding ceremony and the myriad ways the incidental characters have knit themselves into a supportive community.”
Booklist

“Plenty of quirky characters enhance the library director’s excellent 11th adventure.”
Kirkus

“A gifted storyteller, Jenn McKinlay writes a mystery that combines the challenges of wedding planning with the search for the killer in a very engaging narrative.”
Fresh Fiction

“Full of sass, charm, and page-turning suspense!”
Woman’s World

Word to the Wise is another superbly crafted mystery novel by a true master of the genre. An inherently fascinating and compelling read from cover to cover, Word to the Wise is very highly recommended.”
Midwest Book Review

“Rarely does a clean-as-a-whistle cozy qualify as riveting, but this one definitely does.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“A mystery set in a library just feels right…. McKinlay lets the first third of the story breathe, effectively ramping up the tension…. and the conclusion is a wild ride indeed.”
BookPage (Starred Review)
 
“For these #MeToo times, Lindsey’s plight is a cautionary tale of not blaming the victim.”
Booklist
 
“Jenn McKinlay really knows how to keep readers enthralled until the very last page of her books. I loved this one.”
Suspense Magazine

Word To The Wise is heart-stopping and a mix of thrills and classic cozy mystery staples.”
Fresh Fiction

“I loved Word to the Wise. It’s sweet and tart, irresistibly engaging and cleverly entertaining.”
Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author

“Anyone who thinks the word cozy somehow equals slight and superficial ought to read Jenn McKinlay’s Word to the Wise. The ordeal of the heroine battling a stalker is oh so real and harrowing. The characters are fully fleshed out and the coastal setting is appealing. A really enjoyable read.”
Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author

“Jenn McKinlay is a treasure, and Word to the Wise is superb! Her books are always charming, endearing, and instantly engaging—but McKinlay’s secret sauce is her deep understanding of human nature, her superb talent for storytelling, and the most desirable of skills: her unmatched ability to entertain, enlighten, and delight.”
Hank Phillippi Ryan, Five-time Agatha winner and author of Trust Me

“In Word to the Wise, Jenn McKinlay mingles an appealing protagonist, small-town politics, and the terror of a stalker with the joys of true love and a library. A master class in the cozy mystery!”
Lucy Burdette, national bestselling author of A Deadly Feast

“[Death in the Stacks is] exuberantly entertaining…McKinlay invites the reader into an appealing world inhabited by kind, intelligent people and only the occasional nasty villain.”
Publishers Weekly

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top