Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher

The Paris Bookseller

Best Seller
The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher
Hardcover $27.00
Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593102183

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593102183

    Also available from:

  • Feb 01, 2022 | ISBN 9780593102206

    Available from:

Product Details

Praise

“If you ever dreamed you could transport yourself to Paris in the twenties, to Sylvia Beach’s famous bookstore where Joyce, Hemingway, and Pound wandered the aisles, this story’s for you. Maher’s magical touch brings to life a woman whose struggles resonate in today’s world, while also examining the intricacies of friendship, fortitude, and the love of the written word.”
Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue
 
The Paris Bookseller is at once a moving love letter to 1920s Paris, an insight into The Lost Generation, and an ode to a woman’s fight for freedom. It brings to life the all-consuming relationship between a bookseller and a work of art in such a compelling way that I couldn’t stop turning the pages, and I closed the book yearning for a place like Shakespeare and Company. A sparkling read.”
Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author of Bringing Down the Duke

“Absorbing, intricate, and beautifully told, The Paris Bookseller is the unforgettable true story of Sylvia Beach, a champion of modern literature who made enormous sacrifices in the struggle to publish James Joyce’s classic novel, Ulysses, while also establishing Shakespeare and Company, a bookstore that became the Parisian home for literary luminaries of her day. With all the color and verve of post WWI Paris and the deep love of literature that pervades every page, The Paris Bookseller is a novel for book lovers to treasure.”
Christine Wells, author of Sisters of the Resistance
 
“With a cast of characters that span the Lost Generations’ literary pantheon, The Paris Bookseller offers up both a sweeping story of artistic creativity in the face of censorship as well as an intimate portrait of one woman’s struggle to remain true to herself. Maher’s lush writing and rich historical detail will have you thinking about Sylvia and her bookshop long after you’ve turned the final page.”
Alex Rickloff, Author of The Way to London

“The stunning and very human story of a beloved icon….Full of nuance and poignancy—this novel is gorgeous.”
Allison PatakiNew York Times bestselling author of The Queen’s Fortune, on The Girl in White Gloves

“[A] fascinating, deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly…establishes Maher as a true force in biographical fiction.”
Beatriz WilliamsNew York Times bestselling author of The Golden Hour, on The Girl in White Gloves
 
“A captivating look behind the scenes at the life of the iconic Grace Kelly…as she searches for authenticity in a world clamoring instead for a picture-perfect princess.”
Marie BenedictNew York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room, on The Girl in White Gloves
 
“Daring and deep. Maher successfully lifts the curtain of mystery that surrounded a princess and a movie star, revealing a headstrong, complex woman with a riveting story to tell.”
Fiona Davis, National bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls, on The Girl in White Gloves
 
“In The Girl in White Gloves, Kerri Maher beautifully envisions the reality of this fairy-tale life. This deeply researched novel is perfect for fans of Grace Kelly, royal-watchers, and fans of biographical fiction alike.”
PopSugar

“In this charming, picturesque novel, readers are swept away…this story is a glimpse into the dazzling life of a classic and beloved star.”
Woman’s World, on The Girl in White Gloves

“Maher’s bio-fic feels as if it was written by Kelly herself. The novel spins a fascinating version of the Philly native’s life, from princess of Hollywood to Princess of Monaco.”
Philadelphia Magazine, on The Girl in White Gloves

“A riveting reimagining of a true tale of forbidden love.”
People, on The Kennedy Debutante

“Maher’s debut stars a debutante to root for in this moving coming-of-age tale.”
Kate QuinnNew York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress, on The Kennedy Debutante

“Maher beautifully mixes the red-blooded American iconography of the Kennedys with the delicious and Downton Abbey-esque grandeur of Britain’s upper crusts…[Kick] proves a poignant and captivating subject, and her story will make your heart lurch in the best possible ways.”
Allison PatakiNew York Times bestselling author of The Accidental Empress, on The Kennedy Debutante

“A vivid and engrossing portrayal of the fascinating life of Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy. Maher offers a dazzling glimpse of London society filled with a rich, nuanced, and infamous cast of characters alongside a poignant depiction of the emotional cost of war. A stunning debut!”
Chanel CleetonNew York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick
 
“Kerri Maher has crafted a compelling, insightful look into the complexities of the Kennedy era and one of its most fascinating daughters. Expertly researched, this is a remarkable debut.”
Susan Meissner, Bestselling author of As Bright as Heaven, on The Kennedy Debutante

“You will be swept up, first and foremost, by its vivid, captivating heroine. Kick Kennedy was naive and privileged, to be sure, but in Maher’s masterful portrait, she is also a bold young woman living at a precarious moment in history, eager to make her mark on the world as fearlessly as she will follow her heart.”
Julia Glass, Author of A House Among the Trees and the National Book Award–winning Three Junes, on The Kennedy Debutante

Be the first to know!
More from Kerri Maher and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Kerri Maher and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top