Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Shadows of the Short Days by Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson
Add Shadows of the Short Days to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
Shadows of the Short Days by Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson
Paperback $14.95
Oct 20, 2020 | ISBN 9781789094497

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Oct 20, 2020 | ISBN 9781789094497

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 20, 2020 | ISBN 9781789094510

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

“Set in a magical Reykjavik, with echoes of China Mieville and the New Weird” The Washington Post Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year)

‘Teeming with magic, dense with detail and with characters that not only leap off the page, but poke you in the eye as they do. Highly recommended’ JOANNE HARRIS

‘A masterfully crafted dark tale…one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts I’ve read in a long time’ Grimdark Magazine

‘Shadows of the Short Days is fresh and exciting: full of dark, demonic, revolutionary shenanigans’ PETER NEWMAN

‘A heady mix of revolution, monsters and magic, this is a novel of alternative Reykjavik in which myth and religion are alive – and hungry’ ANNA STEPHENS

‘Norse mythology like you’ve never seen it before, set in a Reykjavik that you never knew existed – Shadows of the Short Days is a new breed of fantasy’ EDWARD COX, author of The Relic Guild

‘Shadows of the Short Days is revolutionary fantasy fresher than a dip in a glacial stream. Definitely one for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville’ GAVIN SMITH, author of The Bastard Legion

“Readers who enjoy urban fantasy writers like China Miéville should enjoy this dark saga” Booklist

“Dan Vilhjálmsson had me considering a concept I had not anticipated before starting this book: the personal price of revolution. The pain inflicted on those seeking change and the pain simply incurred by the effort of protest and agitation are central components of Garún and Sæmundur’s experience. It seems a fitting meditation for today’s world, when the seeking of change is both desperate and, yes, painful. If Shadows of the Short Days is any guide, it’s the pain that makes the struggle worth fighting for.” BookPage 

“In this first of a new series, Vihjálmsson’s well-developed future world will interest fantasy fans with a taste for dystopia, especially if they’re up for learning new vocabulary.” – Library Journal

“A wonderfully written parable for our times..one of those books destined to become a classic, cult or otherwise.” -The Frumious Consortium

“A unique setting and a fantasy world reminiscent of China Mieville” Den of Geek (Top New Fantasy Books)

“Vilhjálmsson virtuosically weaves together Icelandic folklore and fantasy/cosmic horror in order to create a unique reading experience that fuels the Anglophone world’s growing appreciation of international speculative fiction. Like fellow Icelandic speculative fiction authors Sjón and Andri Snaer Magnason, Vilhjálmsson offers us a fascinating window onto another literary tradition and tantalizes us with its evolution into the twenty-first century.” – Strange Horizons

“A masterfully crafted dark tale that fuses elements of alternative history, steampunk, science fiction, urban fantasy, and grimdark…one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts that I’ve read in a long time.” Grimdark Magazine

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top