Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Cabinet by Un-su Kim
Add The Cabinet to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Cabinet

Best Seller
The Cabinet by Un-su Kim
Paperback $15.99
Oct 12, 2021 | ISBN 9780857669179

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Oct 12, 2021 | ISBN 9780857669179

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 12, 2021 | ISBN 9780857669247

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

The Cabinet is a sly, whimsical satire of life in late-stage capitalism, slippery and surreal… a kind of echoing chamber in which the comic, heartbreaking and terrifying bounce against, amplify and distort one another.”
Amar El-Mohtar , The New York Times


“[A] brilliant mosaic novel…These stories straddle the lines between science fiction, fantasy, fairy tale, and acute reality.”
– Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Deftly translated by award-winning Halbert, Kim’s latest import…again showcases his sly, surreal, dark humor about all the ways humans are, well, not particularly human.”
– Booklist 

“What begins as a rather whimsical set of stories turns into a much darker novel, raising issues of difference and acceptance, what people must do to survive, and what is truly monstrous.”
– the Guardian

“Surprising and enchanting”
The Washington Post

“Un-su Kim is a tremendous writer.”
Scott Smith, author of A Simple Plan

“This charming and fantastical book is sure to introduce Kim to a whole new legion of weird fiction fans, ideal for readers of Han Kang’s The Vegetarian and the works of Haruki Murakami.”
– Chicago Review of Books

The Cabinet is an anti-capitalist narrative at its core, one that makes explicit the arbitrariness of capitalist expectations and assumptions. Kim deftly juggles both macro-level and micro-level ideas about social roles, purpose, and personal narrative. More of a thought experiment than a thriller, The Cabinet is a lighthearted, amusing read that nonetheless dives into some deep philosophical topics.”
Strange Horizons

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Un-su Kim
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top