Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Coast Range by Nick Neely
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Coast Range

Best Seller
Coast Range by Nick Neely
Paperback $16.95
Nov 14, 2017 | ISBN 9781640090132

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Nov 14, 2017 | ISBN 9781640090132

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 15, 2016 | ISBN 9781619028364

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 17, 2016 | ISBN 9781619028593

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Coast Range

“Neely is a graceful, subtle writer with a sharp eye for the easily missed details of his surroundings.”—Outside Online

“These are nature essays with a difference: the sureness and delicacy with which Nick Neely directs our attention from the miracles of the outer world to the gyroscopic peculiarities of his consciousness make for a very satisfying reading experience.” —Phillip Lopate, author of To Show and Tell and The Art of the Personal Essay

“Welcome a strong new voice for the silver beaches, pine forests, and shining rivers of the Pacific Northwest. Like the agates in his pockets, Nick Neely’s essays are highly polished, translucent, but shot through with hard veins of natural science. Imagine Wallace Stegner in conversation with Ed Ricketts, when they are both young and still astonished. Then you can begin to understand the creativity, the power, the beauty, and the fun of Coast Range.” —Kathleen Dean Moore, author of Great Tide Rising

“What a superb writer Nick Neely is and just the kind of natural history observer we need in a time of fierce change. He enlivens chiton, newt, hummingbird in the sapling outside the Safeway, and more, with keen eyes and ears, quick veers of mind and syntax, and an abiding sense of the connection between the wild and the made worlds. Precise, gorgeous and imaginatively wed to both science and myth, his rendering of Coyote brings the creature smack–dab into twenty–first–century America, as soul–troubling as ever he was in myth and landscape. A fine collection to read and savor.” —Alison Hawthorne Deming, author of Zoologies and The Edges of the Civilized World

“What makes Neely’s collection so compelling is the detail, his artful engagement of our senses to feel the weight of the agate, taste the flake of the fish, trace the letters carved into the madrone trees, and then smell the sour decay of atonement and fall in love with this place.” — Orion

“Neely poetically and introspectively guides our attention to things we might not notice or might not know, his curiosity and wonder driving each story along with his splendid powers of observation, plus a bit of research . . . Each piece feels like an adventure, an opportunity to appreciate the world, a tiny mystery solved.” —Missoula Independent

“Finely tuned essays that vary intriguingly in form and tone . . . Neely capably explores the complexity of his subjects with polish and finesse, looking carefully and thinking deeply.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Neely’s vigilant, wry commentaries on his native patch of the west coast are not only in the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden but in an older and wider one that he shares with Thoreau: what Thoreau calls ‘the great–dragon Tree’ of mythic vision that is associated with Homer and Sophocles but also lives in Aristotle, Herodotus, Pliny, and other classical naturalists.” — David Wallace, author of Mountains and Marshes and The Untamed Garden

“Neely’s fascination with a huge swath of the Pacific Northwest coastal range is evident in this quiet essay collection that focuses on small details described in carefully studied prose . . . This is the sort of introspective writing that will appeal strongly to readers seeking to gain a deeper appreciation of their environment, and those with curiosity about or longing for the region he knows so well. Neely clearly spent a lot of time watching and listening, both to the people and animals that call the area home, and his observations have real staying power.”— Booklist

“Fans of Joseph Wood Krutch, Henry David Thoreau, and John Muir will enjoy these essays even if they are not familiar with the specific geographic area.” — Library Journal

“In Nick Neely’s new book, Coast Range: A Collection From the Pacific Edge, he aptly captures that childlike sense of wonder about the natural world . . . The essays are just as pleasant to read for his meticulously arranged prose and artfully crafted imagery as they are for their educational qualities.”— Idaho Mountain Express

“Nick Neely is a searcher and, lucky for us, a collector as well. Coast Range is his collection, his ‘open–air curiosity cabinet,’ full of newts, agates, madrones, mushrooms, coyote, salmon, paw prints, bones and beautiful sentences. He is a precise writer and his essays are brilliant in the shining sense. But as well as being an accurate observer of the natural world, he is an exuberant participant, and we are both pulled in and lifted up by his generous, buoyant and ever–curious spirit. An important book, and one full of life and joy.” —David Gessner, author of All the Wild That Remains: Edward Abbey, Wallace Stegner and the American West

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Nick Neely
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top